A life-giving graft

 

We arrive at 1975 in the history of the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of Paris, an important moment when they begin to envisage coming together with another congregation. 15 years later this coming together is achieved when they merge with the Daughters of Jesus.

 

More than a century has passed since the founding of the Congregation of the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of Paris.  During their Chapter in May 1975, a reflection is initiated stemming from the reality of the Institute: lack of vocations, average age increasingly high, important apostolic involvements with fewer and fewer sisters to meet the demands of mission. A decision to see to the possibility of joining a Federation would maintain missionary dynamism. This project will not be possible, but the desire to create bonds with another congregation remains.

 

Together on the road

 

In 1983, the Generalate of the Daughters of Jesus was transferred to Paris, on rue d’Arras. In 1984, Father Révillon, delegate of the diocese for religious life, was invited by the General Council of the Daughters of Jesus. Knowing the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception very well, he sensed that a rapport could be envisaged between the two congregations. Thus, a relationship develops and intensifies over the next five years: getting to know one another, studying for ways to remain faithful to carry out mission according to our founders’ intuitions as well as taking into account the difficulties inherent to such a process.

 

In 1988, during a general assembly, Father Révillon shared with the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception the following   allegory: “The roses and the flower garden.”

 

“Why don’t we ask the flowers of the other garden to welcome us?

Their land is fertile and life-bearing.

Their flowers embellish their domain…

But they lack our fragrance and our colours.

In turn, we would receive their strength and vitality.”

 

Father Revillon’s suggestion was studied by the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception. It was developed in reflection, prayer, meetings between our two congregations. This led to the decision of a fusion carried out in April 1990.

 

A complementarity that gives vigour

 

A graft allows another different variety or species to be added to a plant, each with its own characteristics. By this complementarity, we obtain a more vigorous, more resistant rose bush, with more developed roots. Once the graft is a success, it will grow and develop as a single plant.

 

 

 

These characteristics of grafting are found in another form through the handfuls of the earth of Bignan and Paris that were symbolically mixed during the fusion celebration, on April 16th, 1990, on an Easter Monday.

 

 

 

Sister Marie Lamarre, Superior general of the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception expresses the deep meaning of this new mutual belonging:

 

Together, as Church, what are we going to celebrate?

The act that will unite our lives in the same mission for the glory of God,

which is the culmination of a long journey between our two congregations.

 

 

We, Sisters of the Immaculate Conception, a small Church cell, feeling our strength dwindling, heirs of a spiritual heritage that we did not want to lose, we appealed to the congregation of the Daughters of Jesus of Kermaria. Rich, of both our spiritualities “gifts made to the Church” to live in a particular way an aspect of the mystery of Christ,  today, we have the profound conviction that the complementarity we bring through the experience of the mystery of the Incarnation and that of the Redemption will be an enrichment for all the Sisters.

 

This gesture of solidarity within the Church, we also want it to be a prophetic sign for apostolic religious life in today’s world.”

 

As for Sister Ellen Martin, Superior general of the Daughters of Jesus, she invites us to give thanks:

 

“The desire to maintain their missionary dynamism and the years of journeying together, through our similarities and differences, have resulted in the definitive bond that now unites us. It is now that openness, solidarity, and attentiveness to what has been each other’s past are at stake. Are we not aware of the possibilities of mutual enrichment that are available to us?  It is in thanksgiving that we continue to reread our history and try to interpret it in the light of God’s calls to us today. How can we fail to recognize in the fusion event a call for solidarity?”

 

A yes to life

 

Some Sisters of the Immaculate Conception share with us today their testimony concerning this event lived as “a yes to life”:

 

 

“I experienced the act of fusion on Easter Monday as a new life that was offered to me. It was a vivid sign of Christ’s resurrection offered to the whole world.”  Nicole

 

 

 

 

“My greatest joy was to celebrate the fusion transition on Easter Monday. Death and resurrection of Christ for more life. Discovering the international dimension of the congregation of the Daughters of Jesus, enabled me to discover a country other than France.”  Jocelyne

 

 

 

On Easter Monday 1990, our ‘Way of Life’ took a turn, certainly, but to continue what our founders had undertaken… Now, at my own pace, I remain attentive to life in our world and in those closest to us. Living day to day, giving priority to the life of prayer and the Word of God. From the empty tomb, hope is born, “He is alive, “what great Good News”.  Lucie

 

 

 

 

 

 

The road continues

 

Thirty years later, with the graft well-established, the sisters continue their journey together. All of them undertake it accompanied by the “First on the way“, asking her

 

 

Our Lady of Liesse, before whom Mother Saint Anaclet prayed

 

 

 

Walk with us, Mary,

on the ways of hope,

They are ways to God,

they are ways to God.

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Posted in Events, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Share This

Une greffe porteuse de vie

 

On arrive à 1975 dans l’histoire des Soeurs de l’Immaculée Conception de Paris, un moment important quand elles commencent à envisager un rapprochement avec une autre congrégation. 15 ans après ce rapprochement voit le jour quand elles fusionnent avec les Filles de Jésus.

 

Plus d’un siècle s’est écoulé depuis la fondation de la Congrégation des Sœurs de l’Immaculée Conception de Paris. Au cours de leur Chapitre réalisé en mai 1975, une réflexion est amorcée face à la situation de l’Institut : pas de vocations, moyenne d’âge de plus en plus élevée, des œuvres importantes avec de moins en moins de Sœurs pour répondre à la mission. Une décision de cheminer vers une Fédération qui permettrait de conserver le dynamisme missionnaire est alors prise. Ce projet ne pourra se réaliser mais le désir de se rapprocher d’une autre congrégation demeure.

 

Ensemble en chemin

 

En 1983, la maison généralice des Filles de Jésus est transférée à Paris, rue d’Arras. À cette occasion, en 1984, le Père Révillon, délégué du diocèse pour la vie religieuse, est invité par le conseil général des Filles de Jésus. Connaissant très bien les Sœurs de l’Immaculée, il pressent qu’un échange peut être envisagé entre les deux congrégations. C’est ainsi qu’une relation naît et s’intensifie au cours des cinq années qui suivent : connaissance mutuelle, recherche ensemble qui permettent de continuer la mission selon les intuitions des fondateurs, sans ignorer les difficultés inhérentes à un tel parcours.

 

 

C’est en 1988, qu’au cours d’une assemblée générale, le Père Révillon propose aux sœurs de l’Immaculée cette allégorie : « Les roses et le jardin fleuri ».

 

« Si nous demandions aux fleurs de l’autre jardin de nous accueillir ?

Leur terre est bonne et pleine de vie.

Elles embellissent elles aussi la maison…

Mais il leur manque notre parfum et nos couleurs.

Et nous, nous recevrions d’elles leur force et leur vitalité. »

 

La suggestion de cette demande du Père Révillon a été reprise par les Sœurs de l’Immaculée Conception. Elle a été portée dans la réflexion, la prière, les rencontres entre nos deux congrégations. Elle a abouti à la décision d’une greffe réalisée en avril 1990.

 

Un apport de complémentarité

 

Une greffe permet d’ajouter à une plante une autre variété ou espèce différente, chacune apportant ses propres caractéristiques. Par cet apport de complémentarité, on obtient un rosier plus vigoureux, plus résistant, avec des racines plus développées. Une fois que la greffe est prise, celle-ci va croître et se développer en étant une seule plante.

 

 

 

Ces caractéristiques de la greffe se retrouvent sous une autre forme à travers les poignées de terre de Bignan et de Paris qui se sont mélangées symboliquement lors de la célébration de fusion, le 16 avril 1990, un lundi de Pâques.

 

 

 

Sœur Marie Lamarre, Supérieure générale des Sœurs de l’Immaculée, exprime alors le sens profond de cette nouvelle appartenance mutuelle :

 

Tous ensemble, en Église, qu’allons-nous célébrer ?

L’acte qui va unir nos vies dans une même mission pour la gloire de Dieu,

aboutissement d’un long chemin entre nos deux congrégations.

 

“Nous, Sœurs de l’Immaculée, petite cellule de l’Église, sentant nos forces s’amenuiser, héritières d’un patrimoine spirituel que nous ne voulions pas laisser perdre, nous avons fait appel à la congrégation des Filles de Jésus de Kermaria. Riches de nos spiritualités « dons faits à l’Église » pour vivre d’une façon particulière un aspect du mystère du Christ, aujourd’hui nous avons la conviction profonde que la complémentarité que nous nous apportons à travers le vécu du mystère de l’Incarnation et celui de la Rédemption sera un enrichissement pour chacune.

 

Ce geste de solidarité en Église, nous le posons aussi comme signe prophétique pour la vie religieuse apostolique dans le monde d’aujourd’hui.”

 

Quant à Sœur Ellen Martin, à l’époque Supérieure générale des Filles de Jésus, elle invite à rendre grâces :

 

« Le désir de conserver leur dynamisme missionnaire et les années de cheminement ensemble, à travers nos ressemblances et nos diversités, ont abouti au lien définitif qui nous unit à présent. C’est maintenant que se joue l’ouverture, la solidarité, l’attention à ce qui a fait le passé des autres. Ne prenons-nous pas conscience des possibilités d’enrichissement mutuel qui s’offrent ainsi à nous ? C’est dans l’action de grâces que nous continuons à relire notre histoire et essayons de l’interpréter à la lumière des appels que Dieu nous adresse aujourd’hui. Comment ne pas reconnaître dans l’événement fusion un appel à la solidarité ? »

 

Un oui à la vie

 

Quelques Sœurs de l’Immaculée nous livrent aujourd’hui leur témoignage de ce passage vécu comme « un oui à la vie » :

 

 

« J’ai vécu l’acte de fusion le lundi de Pâques comme une vie nouvelle qui m’a été offerte. Ce fut un signe éclatant de la résurrection du Christ offert au monde entier. »     Nicole

 

 

 

« Ma plus grande joie a été de faire le passage de la fusion le lundi de Pâques. Mort et résurrection du Christ pour plus de vie. Découvrir l’internationalité chez les Filles de Jésus, ce qui m’a permis de découvrir un autre pays que la France. »  Jocelyne

 

 

 

 

 

« Le lundi de Pâques 1990, le « chemin de Vie », prenait un tournant, certes, mais pour continuer ce que nos fondateurs avaient entrepris…Maintenant, à mon rythme, je reste en éveil de la vie du monde et des proches. Vivre au jour le jour, en privilégiant la vie de prière et la Parole de Dieu dans mes journées. Du tombeau vide, naît l’espérance, signe inouï : « Il est vivant », une Bonne Nouvelle. »  Lucie

 

 

Le chemin continue

 

30 ans après, avec la greffe bien prise, les Soeurs continuer en chemin ensemble. Toutes le font accompagnées par la “Première en chemin“, lui demandant

 

Notre Dame de Liesse, priée par Mère Saint Anaclet

 

 

 

 

Marche avec nous, Marie,

aux chemins d’espérance,

Ils sont chemins vers Dieu,

ils sont chemins vers Dieu.

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Publié dans Actualités, Evènements

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

Share This