“Know who you are”

 

On the occasion of the anniversary of 50 years of Union between the Sisters of l’Action de Grâces of Mauron and the Daughters of Jesus of Kermaria, we invite you to journey with Virginie Danion, foundress.

 

Torn between fears and confidence

 

Virginie, born on October 14, 1819, came from a patriarchal household of four girls. Her parents lived their faith in the austere context of the time and Virginie was marked by the fear of sin and hell. Early on, at the age of 8, she became seriously ill. Convinced that because of her childhood mistakes she deserved hell, anguished, she alternated between fear of demons and trust in God. At the age of 10, she made her first communion, the first meeting with Jesus in communion, with piety and humility.

 

 

At the age of 14, she had a decisive experience: she received an exceptional grace in the church of Ménéac:

 

 

“ Eyes fixed on the Host, I felt my heart ablaze with an unknown fire.

If only the Lord could be worshipped always

and thanked for giving himself to us in his sacrament.

 

 

 

However, black thoughts come back to haunt her. To distract her, her worried parents brought her to Rennes to complete her education. She returned home when her older sister entered the Ursulines. With the agreement of her spiritual director, she made a vow of virginity at the age of 27. Her parents wanted to keep her close to them, especially after the marriage of their third daughter. Torn in her inner desires, she went to consult the Bishop of Vannes who invited her to leave: ‘Go like Abraham without knowing where…’

Virginie went up to Paris, entered Carmel in November 1849 and then, a month later, the Sisters Réparatrices du Saint Sacrement.In September 1850 she took the habit and became Sister Anne However, she already had a strong intution:

 

“ Happy although this spirit of reparation was contrary

to my inner disposition …

I was only inclined to thank Jesus for the gift of himself

and the graces that rained down on the earth.”

 

 

« This heart on fire for the Eucharist»

 

Sent as superior to Lyon she there made a decisive encounter with Father Pierre-Julien Eymard Like her, he was searching. Raised in a family tinged with severity and fear, little by little, he understood that the Eucharist is the pinnacle of everything, that worship, praise, thanksgiving must be our essential duty.

 

But not everyone agreed with Sister Anne; she was suspected of diverting the young women from their vocation of Reparation to lead them to Thanksgiving instead. The breakup became final. In vain she tried approaching other congregations, but none succeeded. She returned to Mauron on July 4, 1851.

 

The Association of Thanksgiving

 

In the same vein, she was seized by the Word of God: The healing of the 10 lepers, only one of whom, a Samaritan and a stranger, came to thank Christ. This dimension of Thanksgiving seemed essential to her. After informing herself, she organized Perpetual Adoration in Mauron which then led to the founding of L’Association de l’Action de Grâces de Mauron on March 19, 1858, on the feast of Saint Joseph to whom Virginie had a strong devotion. From its beginning until 2010, the Association has had 6710 members: bishops, priests, religious, laity, mainly from France, but also from the Netherlands, Ireland, Jerusalem, Italy and Spain.

 

 

Thanks to an inheritance following the death of her father, Viriginie Danion had the chapel built and blessed on November 26, 1870. Virginie thought of ceding it to an Association, but the Bishop of Vannes convinced her to keep it.

 

Virginie then had a sudden enlightenment and made a commitment:

 

 

 

“I vow and dedicate myself to thanksgiving and perpetual adoration, according to God’s plan and in whatever way he will want.”

 

She chose her name, Mary of the Blessed Sacrament but the Bishop of Vannes recommended that Virginie wait for God’s hour. In 1877, during a retreat, she finally decided to found the House of Thanksgiving. The Bishop of Vannes gave his authorization and a location was chosen for the institute, the Danion House in Mauron. The convent was completed in 1881; and Virginie said, I spent my days at the foot of the tabernacle and in loving care of my dear mother. who died in November 1881.

 

 

Virginie and four other companions took the habit on November 21, 1883. After a year of novitiate, Bishop Bécel received the vows of Mother Mary of the Blessed Sacrament and her sisters on November 27, 1884. The small group began its mission in the Church. The work could finally become what it was intended to be: cloistered and contemplative. They based their lives on the simple and hidden life of Nazareth, engaging in various activities for their livelihood.

 

 

 

Grace continued its work. Mother Mary of the Blessed Sacrament adored, thanked, and formed her “Daughters”. Cancer soon began to drain her energy and she died on January 21st, 1900. But her thoughts remain: manuscripts of her meditations, her memoirs; a whole series of life-giving documents.

 

 

 

 

 

Pilgrim of love

 

Through a series of encounters, through diverse and more or less happy experiences, through her questioning, Virginie Danion progressed as a pilgrim of love. She was able to take advantage of all that she considered to be grace as a sign from heaven, as a gift of God. The combination of prayer and eucharist found the right note in an immense and harmonious blend of praise and thanksgiving.

 

“Adoration will be our first duty;

thanksgiving will be our vocation”.

 

The Community and the Association of l’Action de Grâces are two flowers on the same stem, to say “Thank you” and to learn to say it.

 

 

Drawn from “En Liaison” November 2020

The Sisters of the General Council

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

“Sachez bien ce que vous êtes”

 

A l’occasion de l’anniversaire des 50 ans d’union entre les Filles de Jésus de Kermaria et la Congrégation des Soeurs de l’Action de Grâces de Mauron, on vous invite à prendre le chemin avec Virginie Danion, la fondatrice.

 

Entre craintes et confiance

 

Virginie, née le 14 octobre 1819, est issue d’un foyer de type patriarcal qui comptera quatre filles. Ses parents vivaient leur foi dans le contexte austère de l’époque. Virginie était marquée par la peur du péché et la crainte de l’enfer. Dès son jeune âge, à 8 ans, elle tombe malade. Persuadée que ses fautes d’enfant lui méritaient l’enfer, elle traverse des alternatives de craintes de démons et de confiance en Dieu. A 10 ans, elle fait sa première communion, première rencontre avec Jésus-hostie, dans un sentiment de piété et d’humilité.

 

 

A 14 ans, elle vit une expérience déterminante : elle reçoit une grâce exceptionnelle dans l’église de Ménéac:

 

 

« Les yeux attachés sur l’Hostie, je sentais mon cœur se prendre d’un feu inconnu. Si le Seigneur pouvait être adoré  toujours et remercié de s’être donné à nous dans son Sacrement. »

 

 

Cependant des idées noires lui reviennent. Pour y faire diversion, ses parents inquiets l’amènent à Rennes pour parachever son éducation. Elle revient à la maison quand sa sœur aînée rentre chez les Ursulines. En accord avec son accompagnateur spirituel, elle fait vœu de virginité à l’âge de 27 ans. Ses parents veulent la retenir près d’eux. Tiraillée dans ses désirs intérieurs, elle va consulter l’évêque de Vannes qui l’invite à partir : « Allez comme Abraham sans savoir où. »

          

 

Virginie monte à Paris en novembre 1829 où elle entre au Carmel. Un mois après, elle entre chez les Sœurs Réparatrices du Saint Sacrement où elle prend l’habit en septembre 1850 et devient Sœur Anne. Cependant, elle était déjà envahie d’une intuition :

 

« Heureuse bien que cet esprit de réparatrice fût contraire à mes dispositions intérieures .. je n’étais portée qu’à remercier Jésus du don de lui-même et des grâces qui pleuvaient sur la terre. »

 

 

« Ce cœur de feu pour l’Eucharistie »

 

Elle est envoyée comme supérieure à Lyons et c’est là qu’elle fit une rencontre déterminante : le Père Pierre-Julien Eymard qui connaît le même recherche qu’elle. Elevé dans une famille teintée de sévérité et de crainte, peu à peu, il comprend que l’Eucharistie est le sommet de tout, que l’adoration, la louange, l’action de grâce doivent être notre devoir essentiel.

 

Mais Sr Anne ne fait pas l’unanimité autour d’elle ; elle est soupçonnée de détourner les jeunes filles de leur vocation de ‘Réparatrices’ et la rupture devient fatale. Vainement elle tente d’autres démarches auprès d’autres congrégations qui n’aboutiront pas. En juillet 1851, elle revient à Mauron.

 

l’Association de Grâces

 

Dans le même ordre d’idée, elle est saisie par la Parole de Dieu, surtout la guérison des 10 lépreux, dont un seul, l’étranger est venu remercier le Christ. Cette dimension de l’Action de Grâce lui semble essentielle. Renseignements pris, elle organise à Mauron l’Adoration Perpétuelle qui va conduire à la fondation de l’Association de Grâces de Mauron le 19 mars 1858, en la fête de Saint Joseph envers qui  Virginie Danion avait une vive dévotion. De l’origine à 2010, l’Association a compté 6710 membres : des Evêques, des Prêtres, des Religieuses, des Laïcs, issus principalement de France, mais aussi des Pays-Bas, d’Irlande, de Jérusalem, d’Italie et d’Espagne.

 

Grâce à l’héritage reçu de son père, Virginie Danion fait entreprendre la construction de la chapelle qui sera bénite le 26 novembre 1870. Elle pense à la céder à une Association mais l’Evêque de Vannes lui enjoint de garder l’œuvre.

 

Elle a alors une illumination subite et s’engage :

 

 

 

« Je me voue et me consacre à l’action de grâce et à l’adoration perpétuelle, selon le dessein de Dieu et la forme qu’il voudra. »

 

Elle choisit son nom : Marie du Saint Sacrement mais l’Evêque recommande à Virginie à d’attendre l’heure de Dieu. En 1877, lors d’une retraite, elle se décide enfin à fonder la Maison d’Action de Grâces. Autorisation accordée, l’Institut utilisera la maison-Danion à Mauron. Le couvent sera fini en 1881 et Virginie de dire, « Je passais mes journées au pied du tabernacle et dans les soins affectueux à ma chère maman. » Celle-ci s’éteignit en novembre 1881.

 

 

 

Virginie et quatre compagnes prirent l’habit le 21 novembre 1883 et, après un an de Noviciat, ont fait leurs vœux le 23 novembre 1884. Le petit groupe commence sa mission d’Eglise. L’œuvre peut devenir pleinement ce qu’elle doit être : cloîtrée et contemplative. Leur vie se calque sur la vie simple et cachée de Nazareth, s’adonnant à des activités qui les font vivre matériellement.

 

 

 

La grâce continue son œuvre. Mère Marie du Saint Sacrement adore, remercie, forme ses « Filles ». Un cancer commence bien vite à la miner et l’emportera le 21 janvier 1900. Mais sa pensée demeure : des manuscrits et de ses méditations, ses Mémoires. Tout un ensemble de traces vivifiantes.

 

 

 

 

 

Pèlerine de l’amour

 

Par une suite de rencontres, par les diverse expériences plus ou moins heureuses traversées, par les questionnements qui lui arrivent, Virginie Danion a avancé comme pèlerine de l’amour. Elle a su tirer parti de tout ce qu’elle considérait comme grâce, comme signe du ciel, comme don de Dieu. “Ces orantes eucharistiques” ont trouvé la note juste dans l’immense partition harmonieuse de la louange et de l’action de grâce.

 

“L’adoration sera notre premier devoir d’état;

la reconnaissance sera notre vocation.”

 

La Communauté et l’Association de l’Action de Grâces sont deux fleurs sur la même tige pour dire “Merci” et apprendre à le dire.

 

Tiré de “En Liaison” novembre 2020

Les Soeurs du Conseil général 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Publié dans Actualités, Evènements
Un commentaire sur ““Sachez bien ce que vous êtes”
  1. Ursule Beaulieu dit :

    Merci de ce texte qui nous fait mieux connaître l’histoire des Soeurs de l’Action de Grâces de Mauron.
    Ma cousine Régine Beaulieu a vécu quelques années dans cette Congrégation: c’est pourquoi, je connaissais un peu.
    Unie à vous toutes dans l’action de grâces!
    Ursule Beaulieu, Rimouski, Canada

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

Share This