Geneviève – a Saint for today

 

Rhona Burns, a Daughter of Jesus in community at the rue d’Arras, tells us how the patron saint of Paris has led her in her footsteps. This astonishing personality of the 5th century is still able to speak to the consecrated women of the 21st century.

 

The Daughters of Jesus are not the only ones to celebrate an “Anniversary Year” in 2020. Here in Paris, we have just begun to mark the 1600th anniversary of the birth of Saint Geneviève, the patron saint of the city, the diocese and the gendarmerie. She will be at the centre of a whole series of celebrations and events. At first, I admit that I was a bit sceptical about all this attention and devotion. I wondered what a consecrated woman, from the early days of the Church, had to say to the Parisians of today. Except that I had not taken into account the capacity of this Saint to influence and inspire today as she did in the 5th century.

 

I am her heir

 

Geneviève is first of all “my” saint in the sense that she lived very close to the community of the rue d’Arras. Born in Nanterre, she came to live after the death of her parents with her aunt in Lutèce, on the Ile de la Cité. The rue de la Montagne Sainte Geneviève, the Library of Saint Geneviève, the Henri IV grammar school, the Panthéon, all these neighbourhood landmarks evoke her memory.

 

I have already taken part in one of the guided tours proposed for this year. At the end, I found myself saying, “What a privilege to live with this intellectual and cultural heritage! I am her direct heir. I owe it to her to get to know this woman better.” Come the spring you will find me on the road again, pilgrim’s booklet in hand, on other paths of discovery so that I too can :

 

“Contribute to radiating her memory, so that the flame of her courage may live on.”

 

 

 

A Saint for everyone

 

If Geneviève is “mine”, I’m not the only one to say so. She is a Saint for everyone. Lutèce in Geneviève’s time was already polyglot and pluricultural, as Paris is today. At the celebration of Vespers at St Etienne-du-Mont to launch the Year of Saint Genevieve 2020, there were so many people from all classes and walks of life, they had to close the doors of the church to latecomers.

 

At the end, Archbishop, clergy and laity descended the hill in a joyful procession, reliquary and banners proudly held aloft before the curious onlookers.

 

As a participant, I enjoyed that evening’s procession with a crowd that, for once, was not shouting its displeasure, but singing to celebrate. I became aware that I am one of the Saints who live today in the Presence of God and who are given as Witnesses of the Gospel.” I felt the call to help my contemporaries to discover the secret that animated Saint Geneviève – her Faith in Christ – her Love of others.”

 

On the bridge over the Seine we gathered in front of the tall statue of the Saint. As we entrusted all our prayer intentions to Geneviève, I understood why she has never officially been proclaimed a Saint. The vox populi simply elected her as their protector by acclamation. She continues to watch over us today.

 

 

 

A Saint of prayer and action

 

History relates that Geneviève had already responded at the age of ten to St. Germain’s proposal that she consecrate herself to God. In her twenties, she was admitted to the order of consecrated virgins and received the long white veil. From then on, she led a life of prayer while retaining the functions of a municipal magistrate that she had inherited from her father as his only child.

 

The stories surrounding this “double life” are numerous. We know that she went to pray at night at the tomb of the first Bishop of Paris, St Denis. Legend has it that as the wind extinguished her candle, so her faith rekindled it.

 

 

 

 

At the same time, history tells us about an active woman, with authority and the qualities of a leader. She had to exercise important political responsibilities, sometimes in the face of mistrust and even hostility. Her action was the fruit of her prayer. At a time of change, when the Roman Empire was beginning to dissolve in the west, she was the one who knew how to use her fortitude and intelligence in order to convince the inhabitants to stay and defend Lutèce against the threat from Attila.

 

For me, this Mary and Martha is a model for the consecrated women of today. She invites me to :

 

 

A woman who put her intelligence to good use

 

 

Geneviève came from a family of well-off landowners and could have led a comfortable life in the face of adversity. Nevertheless, whenever the city found itself in difficulty, she tried to find concrete solutions, to help the poor and the sick. One of the most often recounted stories is that of the “provisioning of Paris”. When famine set in in the winter of 479, she chartered eleven boats at her own expense to mount the Seine in order to buy all the available wheat.

 

 

The settlement of Lutèce has evolved enormously since the time of Geneviève. The contemporary issues of a big capital city are not necessarily the same. What has not changed is the need to pray, to watch over, to not let ourselves be overwhelmed by adversity. The city still needs inventive and engaged religious who are ready to act in order to find a common good for all the inhabitants. In all of this we, the Daughters of Jesus living in Paris, have our model of faith and action in St Geneviève.

 

 

 

 

 

Sr Rhona Burns dj

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

Geneviève – une Sainte pour aujourd’hui

 

Sr Rhona Burns, Fille de Jésus en communauté à la rue d’Arras, nous raconte comment  la Sainte patronne de Paris l’a entrainée dans ses pas. Cette personnalité étonnante du 5ème siècle est encore capable de parler aux femmes consacrées du 21ème siècle.

 

 

Les Filles de Jésus ne sont pas les seules à fêter une « Année Anniversaire » en 2020. Ici à Paris, on marque le 1600 ème anniversaire  de la naissance de Sainte Geneviève, la patronne de la ville, du diocèse et de la gendarmerie. Elle sera au centre de toute une série de célébrations et d’événements. Au début, j’admets que j’étais un peu sceptique à propos de toute cette attention et dévotion. Je me demandais ce qu’une femme consacrée qui remonte aux premiers temps de l’Eglise, pourrait avoir à dire aux Parisiens d’aujourd’hui.  Sauf que je n’avais pris en compte la capacité de cette Sainte d’influencer et d’inspirer aujourd’hui comme elle a su le faire au 5ème siècle.

 

Je suis son héritier

 

Geneviève est déjà “ma” Sainte dans le sens qu’elle habitait tout près de la communauté de la rue d’Arras. Née à Nanterre, elle est venue après la mort de ses parents habiter chez sa tante à Lutèce, sur l’Ile de la Cité. La rue de la Montagne Sainte Geneviève,  la Bibliothèque Sainte Geneviève, le lycée Henri IV, le Panthéon,  tous ces points de repère sur le quartier, évoquent sa mémoire.

 

J’ai  profité d’une des visites guidées proposées pour cette année. A la fin du parcours, je   me suis dit, « Quel privilège de vivre avec cet héritage intellectuel et culturel !  Je suis son héritier direct, je le lui dois d’approfondir ma connaissance de cette femme.” Au printemps, vous me retrouverez sur d’autres parcours de découverte, “Livret du pèlerin” à la main, pour qu’on puisse :

 

« contribuer au rayonnement de sa mémoire, afin que demeure vive la flamme de son courage. »

 

 

Une Sainte pour tous

 

Je ne suis pas la seule à dire, « Sainte Geneviève est la mienne  ! ». C’est une sainte pour toutes et tous. Lutèce au temps de Geneviève était déjà polyglotte,  pluriculturelle, comme Paris l’est aujourd’hui. A  l’occasion des vêpres à St Etienne-du-Mont pour lancer l’Année Sainte Geneviève 2020, on a dû fermer les portes de l’église aux retardataires, il y avait tellement de monde. Il y avait des gens de toutes les classes et de tous les horizons.

 

A la fin, une foule joyeuse – Archevêque, clergé et laïcs – descendit la colline en procession avec le reliquaire et les bannières fièrement hissées devant les yeux curieux des badauds. 

 

Comme participante, j’ai pris plaisir ce soir-là à défiler avec une foule qui pour une fois ne criait pas son mécontentement, mais qui chantait et célébrait. J’ai pris conscience que je fais partie des « Saints qui vivent aujourd’hui de la Présence de Dieu et qui sont donnés comme Témoins de l’Évangile. » J’ai senti l’appel de «  faire découvrir à mes contemporains le secret qui animait sainte Geneviève – sa Foi dans le Christ- son Amour du prochain. »

 

 

Sur les quais de la Seine nous nous sommes  rassemblés devant la grande statue de la Sainte pour confier toutes nos intentions de prière à notre protectrice. A ce moment là, j’ai compris pourquoi Geneviève n’a jamais été proclamée “sainte” officiellement. La vox populi  l’a simplement élue comme protectrice par acclamation. Aujourd’hui, elle continue à veiller sur nous.

 

 

Une sainte de prière et d’action

 

L’histoire dit que, vers 10 ans,  Geneviève avait  déjà répondu à la proposition de st Germain qu’elle se consacre à Dieu. Vers ses vingt ans elle est admise parmi les vierges consacrées et reçoit le long voile blanc. Elle mène dès lors une vie de prière tout en conservant les fonctions de magistrat municipal hérités en tant que fille unique de son père.

 

Les histoires autour de cette « double vie » sont nombreuses.  On sait qu’elle allait prier la nuit sur la tombe du premier Evêque de Paris, st Denis. La légende raconte que le vent éteignait son cierge, pendant que sa foi le rallumait.

 

 

 

En même temps l’histoire nous parle d’une femme active, d’autorité,  avec les qualités d’un chef. Elle a dû exercer des responsabilités politiques importantes, quelque fois face à la méfiance et même à l’ hostilité. Son action était le fruit de sa prière. A une époque de mutation, où l’empire Romain occidental commençait à dissoudre, c’est elle qui a su utiliser sa force d’âme et son intelligence pour convaincre les habitants à rester défendre Lutèce contre la menace de Attila.

 

Pour moi, cette Marie et Marthe est un modèle de femme consacrée pour aujourd’hui. Elle m’invite à :

 

 

Une femme qui a mis son intelligence au service du bien

 

Geneviève était d’une famille de propriétaires terriens riches et aurait pu mener une vie aisée, face aux adversités. Néanmoins, chaque fois que la cité se trouvait en difficulté, elle s’efforçait à trouver des solutions concrètes, à aider les pauvres, les malades. Parmi les épisodes les plus relatés, il y a le ravitaillement de Paris. Quand la famine s’installe dès l’hiver 479, elle affrète onze bateaux à ses frais pour aller naviguer sur la Seine et acheter tout le blé disponible.

 

La cité de Lutèce a beaucoup évolué depuis le temps de Geneviève. Les enjeux contemporains d’une grande ville capitale ne sont pas forcément les mêmes. Ce qui n’a pas changé, c’est le nécessité de prier, de veiller, de ne pas se laisser abattre par l’adversité. La cité a encore besoin de religieuses inventives, appuyées, qui s’apprêtent à agir pour trouver le bien commun des habitants. En tout ça, nous les Filles de Jésus habitantes de Paris, nous avons notre modèle de foi et d’action en st Geneviève.

 

 

 

    Sr Rhona Burns fj

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Publié dans Evènements
Share This