A celebration of thanksgiving

 

 

The Sisters in community at Westgate-on-Sea in England recently attended a celebration that marked the end for them of a long collaboration and friendship with the Ursulines. Find out more about this shared history.

 

 

Early July 2021 saw a weekend of “Finals” in England – the Tennis Championships at Wimbledon and the European Football Championship at Wembley. Prior to that, however, the Daughters of Jesus of the English Province took part in a “Final” of a rather different kind, marking the departure of the Ursuline Sisters from Westgate-on-Sea after 117 years of presence.

 

 

Two of a kind

 

Like the Daughters of Jesus, the Ursuline Sisters arrived in Westgate in 1904 from Boulogne-sur-Mer seeking to escape the anti-clerical laws then in force in France. They arrived with 45 pupils and set up a small school which they ran until their return to France in 1926.

 

 

Two views of Westgate-on-Sea in 1907

 

 

hatton Houseoriginal school building The school continued, however, as Ursulines from Avallon, France, who been living in Southwest England wished to buy the property. As there were English and Irish Sisters in the community, what had been a French convent school now adopted a more native identity. Numbers increased and the school grew. Today Ursuline College continues to flourish under the guidance of lay staff.

 

dining room with sisters at table

 

As time passed it became evident that specialized care was needed for the sick and elderly Sisters, so an infirmary was created in 1985. Soon after, the Daughters of Jesus were able to enjoy the nursing care offered at Lourdes Care Home.

 

 

To learn more:

Ursuline College

“A celebration of collaboration”

 

Discerning the future

 

The bsihop leaving the chapelLike all Religious Orders discerning their future, the Ursulines have now decided to bring their communities closer together in the London area. Hence the marking of their departure. The highlight on Friday the 9th of July was a Mass of Thanksgiving celebrated by the Archbishop of Southwark, John Wilson, assisted by the priests, who had served the community in recent years. Religious Sisters from the area were also present, especially our own Sisters, who had been residents in the Care Home.

 

With a joyful spirit

 

view of sisters in the chapelIt had been hoped that many friends of the Ursuline Convent would also be able to attend but alas, numbers had to be reduced. The liturgical celebration involving the school had to be curtailed and no live singing was allowed. However, no Covid restrictions could mar the joyful spirit of the day.

 

The beautiful Mass had been prepared by Sisters who had spent many years at Westgate with a booklet, beautifully put together by Sr Theresa Canty, known to many of us. The booklet was also a souvenir of the convent with a short history and some lovely photos of Lourdes, and the garden.

 

 

Appreciation and gratitude

 

Mgr Wilson preached a thoughtful and much-appreciated homily. Prayers were offered too for the Daughters of Jesus in gratitude for their friendship over the past years. Sisters Bernadette and Maureen, who had recently died after their transfer to St Michael’s Care Home, were given a particular mention.

 

Lunch followed, with everyone sitting in community groups or “bubbles”. A lot of work had gone on behind the scenes, and the cook and her team excelled themselves in producing a superb dinner for a large number. Congratulations are due to everyone for making the day so lovely.

 

 

view of sisters at celebratory lunch

 

Moving on

 

As they leave Westgate, with all its rich history and beauty of a small seaside town, the Sisters pray that the spirit of their founder, Saint Angela Merici, will continue to live on in the hearts of former students, staff, and friends.

 

 

Portrait de st Angela Merici en train d'enseigner une jeune fillec

Sainte Angèle Mérici teacher by Pietro Calzavacca (1855-1890)

 

May they continue to be inspired

by her love of God, her spirit of prayer

and her kindness and hospitality of heart.

 

 

Sr Mary Clare Mason dj

for the Sisters in community at

Westgate-on-Sea, England

 

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

Une célébration d’action de grâce

 

 

Les Sœurs en communauté à Westgate en Angleterre ont assisté récemment à une célébration qui marque la fin d’une longue collaboration avec les Ursulines. Découvrez leur histoire en commun.

 

 

Le début du mois de juillet 2021 a vu un week-end de  » finales  » en Angleterre – les championnats de tennis à Wimbledon et le championnat européen de football à Wembley. Mais avant cela, les Filles de Jésus de la Province Angleterre ont pris part à une « finale » tout à fait différente, marquant le départ des Sœurs Ursulines de Westgate-on-Sea après 117 ans de présence.

 

 

Deux d’une même sorte

 

Comme les Filles de Jésus, les Sœurs Ursulines sont arrivées à Westgate en 1904 en provenance de Boulogne sur Mer. Cherchant à échapper aux lois anticléricales alors en vigueur en France. Elles sont arrivées avec 45 élèves et ont créé une petite école qu’elles ont dirigée jusqu’à leur retour en France en 1926.

 

 

Two views of Westgate-on-Sea in 1907

 

 

 

Hatton House original school building L’école continue cependant, car les Ursulines d’Avallon, en France, qui vivaient dans le sud-ouest de l’Angleterre, souhaitent acheter la propriété. Comme il y avait des Sœurs anglaises et irlandaises dans la communauté, ce qui avait été un couvent à la française a maintenant adopté une identité plus autochtone. Les effectifs ont augmenté et l’école s’est développée. Aujourd’hui, le Collège Ursuline continue de prospérer sous la direction d’un personnel laïc.

 

dining room with sisters at table

Au fil du temps, il est devenu évident que des soins spécialisés étaient nécessaires pour les Sœurs malades et âgées, et une infirmerie a donc été créée en 1985. Peu de temps après, les Filles de Jésus ont pu bénéficier des soins infirmiers offerts par la Maison de Soins Lourdes.

 

 

Pour lire plus:

Ursuline College

« Une célébration de collaboration »

 

Discerner l’avenir

 

The bsihop leaving the chapel

Comme toutes les congrégations religieuses qui discernent leur avenir, les Ursulines ont décidé finalement de rapprocher leurs communautés autours de Londres. D’où les occasions successives de marquer leur départ. Le point culminant a été une Messe d’action de grâce célébrée le 9 juillet par l’archevêque de Southwark, John Wilson, assisté par les prêtres qui ont servi la communauté ces dernières années. Des religieuses de la région étaient également présentes, en particulier nos propres Sœurs, qui avaient été résidentes chez les Ursulines.

 

Avec un esprit joyeux

 

view of sisters in the chapel

On avait espéré que de nombreux amis du couvent des Ursulines pourraient également être présents, mais hélas, le nombre de participants a dû être réduit. La célébration liturgique à laquelle participait l’école a dû être écourtée et aucun chant n’a été autorisé. Cependant, aucune restriction Covid n’a pu enlever l’esprit joyeux de la journée.

 

La belle messe avait été préparée par des Sœurs qui avaient passé de nombreuses années à Westgate. Sr Theresa Canty, connue par beaucoup d’entre nous, a réalisé un livret magnifique qui présentait à la fois le déroulement de la Messe et une courte histoire du couvent avec des belles photos.

 

 

Appréciation et gratitude

 

Mgr Wilson a prononcé une homélie réfléchie et très appréciée. Des prières ont également été offertes pour les Filles de Jésus en remerciement de leur amitié au cours des dernières années. Les Sœurs Bernadette et Maureen, récemment décédées après leur transfert au foyer de soins St Michael ont eu une mention particulière.

 

Un déjeuner festif a suivi, tout le monde étant assis en groupes communautaires ou en « bulles« . Beaucoup de travail avait été effectué en coulisses, et la cuisinière et son équipe se sont surpassées pour nous préparer un superbe repas pour autant de monde. Félicitations à tous pour avoir rendu cette journée si agréable.

 

 

view of sisters at celebratory lunch

 

En route

 

Alors qu’elles quittent Westgate, avec toute sa riche histoire et sa beauté d’une petite ville de bord de mer, les Sœurs prient pour que l’esprit de leur fondatrice, Sainte Angèle Mérici, continue à vivre dans le cœur des anciens élèves, du personnel et des amis.

 

 

Portrait de st Angela Merici en train d'enseigner une jeune fillec

 

Sainte Angèle Mérici enseignante de Pietro Calzavacca (1855-1890)

 

Puissent-ils continuer à être inspirés

par son amour de Dieu, son esprit de prière,

sa gentillesse et son hospitalité de cœur.

 

 

Sr Mary Clare Mason fj

pour les Soeurs en communauté à

Westgate-on-Sea, Angleterre

 

1 Commentaire

  1. Merci de nous avoir partagé ce riche moment de fraternité et de solidarité!
    Ursule Beaulieu, Rimouski, Canada

    Réponse

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

2 × 2 =

Un peu
d'histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Share This