Weaving bonds of community

 

The General Chapter of 2010 saw the Congregation deepen the Chapter Acts of 2004, by encouraging each Sister to find a new energy in her mission. Since then, two Sisters of the English Province, Sheelah Clarke and Winifred Crowther, have done just that and now have a testimonial to prove it !

 

Exploring a new type of retirement living

 

In 2015, the Methodist Homes Association opened a new type of retirement living in Peterborough, where independence and care are closely aligned. At the same time the English Province began looking to its own future with regard to care for its senior members.

Sr Winifred Crowther pioneered the way by accepting a place at The Maples followed shortly afterwards by Sr Sheelah Clarke. How they live out their mission is seen in this testimony by a fellow resident, Robert Mason, who helped to welcome a group from the Council of the Congregation in October 2018.

 

Living a life style of relationship

 

“Prior to coming to The Maples I had experienced almost no contact with Catholic Sisters and was somewhat unsure about how relationships with them would be. It was good to see that they did not wear a habit and that both ladies dress in a manner that they and fellow residents are comfortable with.

Getting to know them as neighbours has been a pleasure. While sharing a similar background the ladies are very much their own people. They are quietly spoken and are genuinely interested in the lives of fellow residents – without being nosey !

The Sisters do not always sit together, e.g. at lunch, and go out of their way to give companionship to the full range of residents. They have a lovely, gentle sense of humour which is enjoyed by all. It is obvious they have a wide variety of experiences and that these have helped make them the caring and concerned people they are.

Getting to know them as neighbours has been a pleasure. While sharing a similar background the ladies are very much their own people. They are quietly spoken and are genuinely interested in the lives of fellow residents – without being nosey !

The Sisters do not always sit together, e.g. at lunch, and go out of their way to give companionship to the full range of residents. They have a lovely, gentle sense of humour which is enjoyed by all. It is obvious they have a wide variety of experiences and that these have helped make them the caring and concerned people they are.

It is very interesting hearing about their families and the experiences they have had during their lives. They never force these, or their views, on others but quietly impress people by the way they live their lives and demonstrate their faith in their day to day lives.

Sister Winifred is a valuable member of our Residents’ Committee and provides many residents with a « listening ear ». Sister Sheelah also provides a listening ear and regularly visits the local hospital and hospice to support patients and their families.

It is a privilege to know these two unassuming, kindly ladies. The residents of The Maples are extremely lucky to be able to benefit from what these two special ladies bring to their lives”.

 

The Chapter Acts in action

 

Nine years on from the General Chapter of 2010, Sisters Winifred and Sheelah continue to dare to encounter others :

 

“an encounter which leads beyond appearances,

assumptions and frailty,

permitting the best of oneself and others

to emerge in simplicity.”

The Chapter Acts 2010

 

Srs Winifred Crowther and Sheelah Clarke dj

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eight − four =

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

Tisser des liens de communauté

 

Le Chapitre Général de 2010, approfondissant les Actes du Chapitre de 2004, a encouragé chaque Sœur à trouver une nouvelle énergie dans sa mission. Deux Sœurs de la Province Angleterre, Sheelah Clarke et Winifred Crowther, s’y sont mises depuis et viennent même de recevoir un témoignage à cet effet !

 

Explorer une nouvelle manière de vivre la retraite

 

En 2015 Le Methodist Homes Association (l’Association de Foyers Méthodistes) a ouvert un nouveau type de maison de retraite, The Maples, à Peterborough, où l’indépendance et les soins sont étroitement liés. Cette ouverture a eu lieu au même moment où la Province Angleterre commençait à se tourner vers l‘avenir dans la perspective de soigner au mieux les Sœurs âgées.

C’est Sr Winifred Crowther qui a donc ouvert la voie en acceptant une place dans la résidence, suivie peu après par Sr Sheelah Clarke. La façon dont elles ont vécu leur mission depuis est illustrée par ce témoignage d’un co-résident, Robert Mason, qui a participé à l’accueil d’un groupe du Conseil de Congrégation en octobre 2018.

 

Vivre un style de vie relationnel

 

Robert nous raconte :

 

“Avant de venir aux Maples, j’avais eu très peu de contact avec des Sœurs catholiques et je n’étais pas certain de la manière dont se passerait la vie avec elles. C’était bien de voir qu’elles ne portaient pas d’habit et que les deux dames s’habillaient d’une manière qui mettait tout le monde à l’aise, elles et les autres.

Apprendre à les connaître en tant que voisines a été un plaisir. Tout en partageant des antécédents similaires, chacune des deux dames a su garder sa propre personnalité. Elles parlent doucement et s’intéressent vraiment à la vie des résidents – sans être curieuses !

Les Sœurs ne s’assoient pas toujours ensemble, par exemple au déjeuner, et font tout leur possible pour tenir compagnie à toute la gamme des résidents. Elles ont un sens de l’humour charmant et doux qui est apprécié de tous. Il est évident qu’elles ont vécu une grande variété d’expériences, lesquelles ont contribué à faire d’elles des personnes bienveillantes et concernées.

Il est très intéressant de les écouter parler de leurs familles et des expériences qu’elles ont vécues au cours de leurs vies. Elles ne s’imposent jamais aux autres. Elles n’imposent pas non plus leurs points de vue, mais impressionnent les gens plutôt par la façon dont elles se comportent et démontrent leur foi dans la vie de tous les jours.

Sœur Winifred est un membre précieux de notre comité de résidents et offre une ” oreille attentive ” à toutes les personnes de la maison. Sœur Sheelah est également à l’écoute et visite régulièrement l’hôpital local et l’unité de soins palliatifs pour soutenir les patients et leurs familles.

C’est un privilège de connaître ces deux femmes sans prétention et gentilles. Les résidents des Maples ont beaucoup de chance de pouvoir bénéficier de ce que ces deux dames spéciales apportent à leur vie “.

 

Mettre les Actes du Chapitre en action

 

Neuf ans après le Chapitre Général de 2010, les Sœurs Winifred et Sheelah continuent à :

 

oser aller à la rencontre de l’autre”

“une rencontre qui nous entraîne au-delà des apparences,

 des préjugés, des fragilités humaines

 pour laisser surgir le meilleur de soi et des autres.”

                                                                                                          Actes du Chapitre 2010 p. 11

 

                                                                                                           Srs Winifred Crowther and Sheelah Clarke dj

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Publié dans Actualités, Témoignages
Share This