Rose FOWLER (Sister Mary Patrick Joseph), 1929 – 2019

 

Sr Rose Fowler of the Province England, died during the night of 22nd – 23rd April 2019 at the Lourdes Community Nursing and Residential Care Home, Westgate on Sea, England. Her funeral will take place on Thursday 9th May at Westgate on Sea.

In remembrance of Sr Rose :

We are all sad to bid farewell to our dear Sister and friend, Rose Fowler. Our lives have been blest and enriched by having known her – her kindness, her sense of humour, her generosity and her willingness to be of service. I first met her in Princes Risborough as she was going off to the novitiate in France. I, myself, was a young girl away from home for the first time. By the time we lived together again at Westgate on Sea we were both much older and Rose’s health was very fragile.

Rose was born 15 February 1929 in Corcoaghan, County Monahan, Ireland, and baptized the next day. She was the youngest of a family of five, Michael, Margaret, William and Frank, who have all predeceased her. Rose was the “baby” and admitted that she was spoiled by the family. Her father died young and her widowed mother had a struggle to raise the family. Rose was very devoted to and proud of her family at home in Ireland – her sister Maggie, the mother of Anne Marie, and her brothers, their children, her nephews and nieces.

She often spoke of their musical talents and Irish dancing and their ability in the Gaelic language. The walls of her room were adorned with their pictures and her prayers for them all, also for her dearest friends Sisters Eithne and Aloysius. We are so glad to have her family here with us today.

Rose was educated at the St Louis Convent School and at the time of her leaving expressed the desire to be a nun. Her headmistress proposed several options, she tried one other convent but then decided to come to England in 1946 to the Daughters of Jesus. There she was received at St Teresa’s Convent, Princes Risborough, to prepare to enter the novitiate in the Mother house in France. Her companions were Sisters Marion Staff and Peggy Brouder. They were the first young ladies to be received into the English “Juvenate” where they spent some time learning French and getting used to life in the convent.

Before travelling to the noviciate in France the young ladies were expected to have their hair cut short. Rose however, had just returned from a holiday at home in Ireland with a lovely perm and was very reluctant to have the expensive hair-do cut off so soon. Mother St Albert allowed her to keep the perm and admonished all three to be model postulants and to give a good example of her training in the English Juniorate.

Arrived at Kermaria, the Mother house, it was difficult for Rose to master the French language and one day she presented Marion with a sheet of paper with a list of her sins. “Can you translate this for me?” she asked! One year as a Postulant, followed by a year as Novice and on August 4th 1949 Rose became a professed religious sister, Mary Patrick Joseph (her father’s name). With her two newly professed companions Srs Anna Maria and Mary Ita, she returned to England, each one to her designated community.

With grace, joy and good humour Rose devoted herself to caring for the material needs of the Sisters for many years in Colne, High Wycombe and Rickmansworth, helping with household tasks and meals for the school children. In 1968 Rose was asked to join the foundation of the Rathmore community at Greenisland in Northern Ireland which would serve as a hostel for Catholic boys at the University of Ulster. With the community, and especially with Sister Ethna, she lived through years of “the troubles”, sharing the residents’ sufferings and helping in many ways to lift the spirits of both Catholic and Protestants alike.

After the closure of the Hostel in 1989 and of the Rathmore Convent, Rose was asked to take charge of the community and to share in the pastoral ministry in the parish of Greenisland. In this role Rose ministered Holy Communion to the sick and elderly in their homes and, in those troubled times, gave not only spiritual consolation but helped in practical ways,such as cutting lawns or driving people to hospital. She became an apostle of ecumenism.

As time went on the sisters in community were also ageing and sick. Rose attended to them with compassion, patience and good humour. She loved to garden and turned the garden of Ard Mhuire, overlooking the Belfast Lough, into an interesting oasis of peace and colour. The garden was a maze of small spaces where you could sit and rest to catch the sun or view Belfast Lough.

1989 marked a milestone with the celebration of 50 years religious life which she shared with Marion at the celebration Mass and feast with the 25th Anniversary of priesthood of Father Dan Magnier, parish priest of Mill End. Ten years on in 1999 she celebrated sixty years with us at Westgate.

Over the years Rose laid to rest her good friends of many years in community of Greenisland – Sisters Mary Patrick, Patricia, Mary Eithne, Aloysius and Marie Louise and maybe she expected to rest there with them too, after suffering a heart attack. However, it was not to be, and the time came to leave Greenisland. In 2011 the community closed its doors and Rose returned to her previous community of Colne in Lancashire where she had many friends. However, her own health was declining and in 2012 she was welcomed to the retirement community in Westgate on Sea. Rose gradually realised that she could no longer cope in community and in 2014 asked to be admitted to a Nursing Home. After three months in Eaton Lodge which was close enough to Exbury for Marion to take her Holy Communion each day and where she was greatly loved and appreciated, she transferred to the Ursuline Sisters Community, “Lourdes Nursing Home”.

I think “contentment” best describes Rose’s sojourn here in this lovely place of holiness and tranquillity. Here she made preparation for her final meeting with the good Lord to whom she gave her life. How she appreciated the care and enjoyed chatting and singing with the Sisters and carers. The blessing of Lourdes Nursing home for our Sisters with you, dear Sisters, is beyond price and with Rose I say, “Thank you so much and may God bless you all.”

Rest in peace Rose. Happy meeting with the Lord.

 

Sr Helen Ramsay dj

 

1 Comment

  1. I will always remember what a spiritual yet fun person she was. When visiting my Aunt in Greenisland I recall meeting her for the first time. What a sense of humour! She also tended the gardens of the house as if they were her own. I will always think of her as the “Percy Thrower” of the community. May God be merciful to her.

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

Rose FOWLER (Soeur Mary Patrick Joseph), 1929 – 2019

 

Sr Rose de la Province Angleterre est décédée dans la nuit du 22 au 23 avril 2019 au Foyer de Soins Communautaires et Résidentiels de Lourdes, Westgate on Sea, Angleterre. Née en Irlande en 1929, Sr Rose a fait profession le 4 août 1949. Ses obsèques  seront célébrées le jeudi 9 mai à Westgate on Sea.

 

En souvenir de Sr Rose :

 

Ça nous rend tristes, tous et toutes, de dire “Adieu” à notre chère Sœur et amie, Rose Fowler. Nos vies ont été bénies et enrichies par sa gentillesse, son sens de l’humour, sa générosité et sa volonté de servir.  Je l’ai rencontrée pour la première fois à Princes Risborough alors qu’elle partait pour le noviciat en France. Moi-même, j’étais une jeune fille loin de chez moi pour la première fois.  Plus tard, quand nous avons vécu ensemble à Westgate on Sea, nous étions toutes les deux beaucoup plus âgées et la santé de Rose était très fragile.

Rose est née le 15 février 1929 à Corcoaghan, dans le comté de Monahan, Irlande, et a été baptisée le lendemain. Elle était la plus jeune d’une famille de cinq enfants, Michael, Margaret, William et Frank, qui sont tous décédés avant elle.  Rose était le “bébé” et admettait qu’elle était gâtée par la famille. Son père est mort jeune et sa mère, veuve, a dû lutter pour élever sa famille.  Rose était très dévouée à et fière de sa famille à la maison en Irlande – sa sœur Maggie, la mère d’Anne Marie, et ses frères, leurs enfants, ses neveux et nièces. 

Elle parlait souvent de leurs talents musicaux et en danse irlandaise, ainsi que de leurs compétences en langue gaélique. Les murs de sa chambre étaient ornés de leurs photos et de ses prières pour eux tous, ainsi que pour ses amies les plus chères, Sœurs Eithne et Aloysius. Nous sommes très heureux d’accueillir sa famille parmi nous aujourd’hui.

Rose a fait ses études à l’école du couvent Saint-Louis et, au moment de son départ, elle a exprimé le désir d’être Sœur. La directrice lui a proposé plusieurs options. Elle a fait un stage dans un autre couvent mais finalement elle a décidé de venir en Angleterre en 1946 chez les Filles de Jésus.  Là, elle a été reçue au couvent Sainte Thérèse, Princes Risborough, pour se préparer à entrer au noviciat à la Maison mère en France.   Elle avait comme compagnes Sœurs Marion Staff et Peggy Brouder. Elles ont été les premières jeunes femmes à être reçues au juvénat anglais où elles ont passé un certain temps à apprendre le français et à s’habituer à la vie au couvent.

Avant de se rendre au noviciat en France, on s’attendait à ce que les jeunes filles se fassent couper les cheveux.  Rose, cependant, revenait tout juste de vacances à la maison en Irlande avec une belle permanente et était très réticente à se faire couper les cheveux si tôt. Mère St Albert lui a permis de garder la permanente et a insisté qu’elle devienne une postulante modèle pour donner un bon exemple de sa formation au juvénat anglais.

Une fois arrivée à Kermaria, Rose avait du mal à maîtriser la langue française. Un jour elle a présenté une feuille de papier avec une liste de ses péchés à Marion, en lui demandant, « Pouvez-vous traduire ça pour moi ? » Après une année comme postulante, suivie d’une année comme novice, Rose a fait profession le 4 août 1949, sous le nom de Sœur Mary Patrick Joseph (le nom de son père). Avec ses deux nouvelles compagnes, Srs Anna Maria et Mary Ita, elle est retournée en Angleterre, chacune à sa communauté désignée.

Avec grâce, joie et bonne humeur, Rose s’est consacrée pendant de nombreuses années aux besoins matériels des Sœurs de Colne, High Wycombe et Rickmansworth, aidant aux tâches ménagères et aux repas des élèves. En 1968, Rose a été invitée à rejoindre la nouvelle communauté de « Rathmore » au Greenisland, en Irlande du Nord, qui devait servir de foyer pour les garçons catholiques à l’Université d’Ulster. Avec la communauté, et en particulier avec Sœur Ethna, elle a vécu des années des ” Troubles “, partageant les souffrances des habitants et aidant des manières différentes à remonter le moral tant des catholiques que des protestants.

 Après la fermeture du foyer en 1989 et du couvent de Rathmore, Rose a été invitée à être responsable de la nouvelle maison, « Ard Mhuire » et à participer au ministère pastoral dans la paroisse du Greenisland.  Dans ce rôle, Rose portait la Sainte Communion aux malades et aux personnes âgées chez eux. A cette époque troublée, elle offrait non seulement de la consolation spirituelle, mais aussi de l’aide pratique, comme tondre les pelouses ou conduire les gens à l’hôpital. Elle est devenue apôtre de l’œcuménisme.

 Au fil du temps, les Sœurs de la communauté sont devenues, elles aussi, âgées et malades. Rose s’occupait d’elles avec compassion, patience et bonne humeur.  Elle aimait jardiner et a transformé le jardin d’Ard Mhuire, surplombant le Belfast Lough, en oasis plein de paix et de couleurs. Le jardin était un labyrinthe de petits espaces où l’on pouvait s’asseoir et se reposer pour prendre le soleil ou regarder le fleuve.

 L’année 1989 l’a vu célébrer ses 50 ans de vie religieuse, une célébration qu’elle a partagée avec Sr Marion lors d’une Messe et avec le Père Dan Magnier, curé de la paroisse Mill End, qui fêtait lui-même sa 25e anniversaire de sacerdoce. Dix ans plus tard, en 1999, elle a fêté ses soixante ans avec nous à Westgate.

 Au fil des ans, Rose a enterré ses bonnes amies de longue date dans la communauté du Greenisland – les Sœurs Mary Patrick, Patricia, Mary Eithne, Aloysius et Marie Louise. Après avoir souffert une crise cardiaque, elle s’attendait peut-être à y reposer avec elles. Cependant, ce ne devait pas être le cas, et le moment est venu de quitter Greenisland. En 2011, la communauté a fermé et Rose est retournée à sa première communauté de Colne dans le Lancashire où elle avait beaucoup d’amis. Malheureusement, sa santé a commencé à décliner et en 2012, elle a été accueillie dans la communauté des Sœurs retraitées de Westgate on Sea. Rose s’est peu à peu rendu compte qu’elle ne pouvait plus vivre à la communauté donc en 2014, elle a demandé d’intégrer une maison de retraite. Après trois mois à la Loge Eaton qui était assez proche d’Exbury pour que Marion puisse lui porter la Communion chaque jour et où elle était très aimée et appréciée, elle a été transférée à la Communauté des Sœurs Ursulines, “Lourdes Nursing Home”.

 Je pense que c’est le mot “contente” qui vient à l’esprit quand on pense au séjour de Rose dans ce bel endroit de sainteté et de tranquillité. C’est là qu’elle préparait sa dernière rencontre avec le bon Dieu à qui elle a donné sa vie.  Elle appréciait les soins et aimait bavarder et chanter avec les Sœurs et les aides-soignantes. Avoir nos Sœurs avec les Sœurs Ursulines à la maison de retraite de Lourdes est une bénédiction hors de prix et avec Rose, je dis : “Merci beaucoup et que Dieu vous bénisse toutes”.     

 Repose en paix Rose.   Nous te souhaitons « Bonne rencontre avec le Seigneur ».

 

Sr Helen Ramsay fj

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Publié dans Biographie des soeurs

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

Share This