The Sisters of Kermaria at “Boulevard Magenta”

Accompany the Sisters of the Mother House as they pay an unusual visit to the Provincial House in Rennes as part of the European Heritage Days. An opportunity to find out more about this unusual building and to marvel at the works of their co-Sister and artist, Lisette Mazo.

En route for Magenta

As part of the 2023 European Heritage Days, the Provincial House of the Daughters of Jesus in France opened its doors to allow the general public to discover the works of our artist Sr Lise Mazo, who has her studio within the walls. After the very large crowds on Saturday and Sunday, it was the turn of the Sisters of the Daughters of Jesus to come to Boulevard Magenta, Rennes, on Monday the 18th of September.

At around 11 am, thirty or so Sisters, who had come by coach from their motherhouse in Kermaria, walked around the esplanade Charles-de-Gaulle, arousing the curiosity of passers-by. Among them was an “intruder”, a man! Marc Dinapoli, husband of Brigitte, the assistant to the community Mère Saint Angèle at  Kermaria, and an artist himself took advantage of the opportunity.

Discovering the workshop

On their arrival, they were overwhelmed by the warm welcome from Sr Anne, the Provincial, and the sisters of the community. Then, with eyes shining with anticipation, they all headed for the garage and Sister Lisette’s workshop. There, Alain Burban and Christine Malard, the key players in this wonderful experience, welcomed them in their turn.

They marvelled at Lisette’s many works. They were also keen to hear the comments of the connoisseurs.

The artist’s career

Everyone also enjoyed the beautiful film retracing the life of our Sister: her happy childhood as the middle child of a family of 11, her years studying at the Beaux-Arts, Rennes, followed by her years there as a teacher.

But that was just an appetizer. The essential works in the exhibition were on display on the upper floors of the house. We had to climb the stairs to reach the three floors where sculptures, paintings, collages, and pastels filled our eyes. The most courageous visitors really appreciated it all.

A short pause to regain our strength

Around midday, the large dining room in the house was made available to the group.  Needing to recharge our batteries for the rest of the visit, we really appreciated the picnic prepared for us by Kermaria.

The turn of the architect

Mr Hervé Perrin, the architect of the house, then took charge of the group. In order to appreciate the remarkable architecture of the building, he invited everyone to gather on the esplanade in front of the building. There, he explained the history of the house:

– Why design such an original building?

– What materials were used?

– What techniques were used?

All the details we needed to know to understand the longevity of this house: 30 years and in perfect condition!

The tour continued inside the house. The whole group was very interested, with not a sign of boredom.

And alas, it came to an end!

But all good things must come to an end. Already, we had to think about the return journey but before saying goodbye, the Sisters of the house served us a delicious afternoon tea in the dining room. It was good to be together and our enjoyment was at its peak. Joy burst forth as we expressed so much emotion.

Before saying goodbye, Sr Anne thanked the whole group for their interest. She expressed one wish: that other opportunities would present themselves for another trip to Rennes.  We still had so many wonderful things to discover: the cathedral, the parliament, and so much more. Her proposal was accepted enthusiastically. On behalf of everyone, Yvonne Chatel thanked Anne and the community.

A visit like this strengthens the bonds between Sisters. The joy and pride of feeling that they are Daughters of Jesus and of getting to know a Daughter of Jesus artist better could be seen on their faces.

One regret : not seeing Lisette: She was tired out and resting.

“A good journey back home to our Sisters in Kermaria, and we hope to see you soon!”

                                               Sr Madeleine Menier dj,

Community rue des Tatras, Rennes

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 × 3 =

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

Les Soeurs de Kermaria au boulevard Magenta

Accompagnez les Sœurs de la maison mère lors d’une visite insolite à la maison provinciale de Rennes dans le cadre des Journées européennes du patrimoine. L’occasion de connaître d’avantage ce bâtiment hors norme et de s’émerveiller devant les œuvres de leur consœur et artiste, Lisette Mazo.

En route pour Magenta

Dans le cadre des Journées européennes du patrimoine 2023, la Maison Provinciale des Filles de Jésus en France a ouvert ses portes pour permettre au grand public de découvrir les œuvres de l’artiste notre Sr Lise Mazo, qui a son atelier dans les murs. Après la foule très nombreuse des deux jours de samedi et dimanche, c’est au tour des Sœurs Filles de Jésus de venir à la boulevard Magenta, Rennes, le lundi 18 septembre.

Vers 11 heures, venues en car depuis la maison mère, Kermaria, une bonne trentaine de Soeurs, désireuses de s’ouvrir, déambulent sur l’esplanade Charles-de-Gaulle, suscitant la curiosité des passants. Parmi elles, un « intrus », un homme! Monsieur Marc Dinapoli, mari de Brigitte, l’assistante communautaire de Mère Saint Angèle à Kermaria, lui-même artiste, a profité de l’occasion.

On découvre l’atelier

A leur arrivée, l’accueil chaleureux de Sr Anne, la Provinciale, et des Sœurs de la communauté les comble. Puis, les yeux brillant d’impatience, tous se dirigent vers le garage et l’atelier de Sœur Lisette. Là, Alain Burban et Christine Malard, les grands acteurs de cette belle expérience, les accueillent à leur tour.

Les nombreuses œuvres de Lisette les émerveillent. Ils sont également vivement intéressés par les commentaires des connaisseurs.

Le parcours de l’artiste

Tous apprécient aussi le très beau film retraçant la vie de notre sœur : son enfance heureuse au milieu d’une famille de 11 enfants, ses années d’étude aux Beaux-Arts, ses années de professeur aux Beaux-Arts à Rennes.

Mais ce n’est qu’une mise en bouche. L’essentiel est disposé dans les étages de la maison. Il faut gravir les escaliers pour atteindre les trois étages où des sculptures, des peintures, des collages, des pastels, remplissent les yeux. Les plus vaillantes apprécient beaucoup le tout.

Une petite pause pour reprendre ses forces

Vers midi, la grande salle à manger de la maison est mise à disposition du groupe.  Le bon pique-nique préparé par Kermaria est vivement apprécié. Il était nécessaire de refaire ses forces pour la suite.

Au tour de l’architecte

Alors monsieur Hervé Perrin, l’architecte prend en charge tout le groupe. Pour apprécier l’architecture remarquable de la construction, il propose à tous de se grouper sur l’esplanade face à la maison. Là, il retrace l’historique de la maison :

  • Pourquoi cette maison originale ?
  • Quels matériaux ont été employés ?
  • Quelle technique ?

Détails à connaître pour comprendre la longévité de cette maison : 30 ans et en parfait état !

Le groupe entier est très intéressé. La visite se poursuit dans la maison. Pas de signe d’ennui…

Et hélas, c’est la fin

Mais toute bonne chose a une fin. Déjà, il faut penser au retour. Avant de se quitter, un bon goûter préparé par les sœurs de la maison, est servi de nouveau dans la salle à manger. Tant de fraternité fait grand bien. L’animation est à son comble. La joie éclate. Tant d’émotion à exprimer…

Avant de se quitter, Anne remercie tout le groupe pour l’intérêt porté. Elle exprime un souhait : que d’autres occasions se présentent pour une nouvelle escapade vers Rennes.  Il y aurait tant de belles choses à découvrir : la cathédrale, le parlement, et bien autre chose. La proposition est acceptée avec enthousiasme. Au nom de tous, Yvonne Chatel remercie Anne et la communauté.

Une telle visite renforce les liens entre Sœurs. La joie, la fierté de se sentir Filles de Jésus et de mieux connaître une artiste Fille de Jésus se lisent sur les visages.

Un seul regret : n’avoir pas vu Lisette. Elle est épuisée et se repose.

« Bon retour à nos Sœurs à Kermaria et à une autre fois…nous l’espérons! »

                                               Sr Madeleine Menier fj,

Communauté rue des Tatras, Rennes

1 Commentaire

  1. Super article.Cela devait être une belle journée pour les sœurs de Kermaria. Très belle maison pour y avoir eu la chance d’y venir quand ma marraine était provinciale.

    Réponse

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

20 + dix-huit =

Un peu
d'histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Share This