« The mystery of Kermaria » – the passing on of a heritage

Brother Benoît osb, from the Abbaye Sainte-Anne de Kergonan in Brittany, shares his impressions of the performance of “Le Mystère de Kermaria”. He sees it as a transmission of the spiritual heritage of the Congregation and the history of religious life in the diocese.

We experienced an exceptional moment of grace on Saturday the 9th of September 2023 at Kermaria, the home of the “Daughters of Jesus”, for the performance of the “Mystery of Kermaria” at the entrance to the Congregation’s estate on the outskirts of Locminé. This open-air theatrical performance, with beautiful sets and around 80 extras, told the story of the beginnings of the Congregation, which dates back to 1834 and whose first house was at Bignan in Morbihan.

Two key figures

We discovered the personality of Mother Sainte Angèle, née Perrine Samson, the first Superior General of the “Daughters of Jesus”.

and, above all, the striking figure of Mother Marie de Saint Charles, née Angélique Périgault. Coming from Talensac in the diocese of Rennes, she was looking for a poorer congregation than the ones she knew. She arrived in Bignan on the 17th of October 1841, made profession in 1843, and was elected Superior General on the 23rd of August 1846, after only 5 years of religious life, at the age of 26, and by 27 votes out of 29! She governed the Congregation for almost 40 years and gave the Sisters a spiritual education that is still relevant today.

«   I pray to the good God to give us his Spirit that we may act in due time according to his good pleasure; then I abandon myself into his hands with calm and peace. »

Mother Marie de Saint Charles

Lann Vraz becomes Saint-Joseph-of-Kermaria

On the 30th of April 1860, the estate of Lann Vraz (Great Heathland) in Locminé became Saint-Joseph-de-Kermaria. According to a Locminé legend, Saint Joseph appeared there to Louison, a poor peasant woman returning from the market. Louison was a woman of faith and prayer, to whom he made this revelation, naming the place Lann Vraz :

« Great things will come about here. Many people will come from far and wide to live here together, and St Joseph will be honoured here.»

With which words he disappeared.

History and celebration

This performance was planned for the 170th anniversary of the arrival of the Sisters in Kermaria, but due to Covid it had to be postponed until 2023.

The performance alternated between serious moments in the history of the community and more playful moments of celebration, with the audience joining in with the rhythms of the dances and clapping their hands.

An evocation of heroic beginnings

The text and costumes were beautiful and evocative. The actors’ diction was very good, the sound system was perfect, and the action unfolded flawlessly! There were many children and young people in the cast, and a real joy emanated from the mystery evoked. The heroic beginnings of community life were a source of great enthusiasm, as the first Sisters were particularly courageous and quick to work in the fields, which made them so close to the people of the countryside.

Thank you for this page of history

Thank you to the director and to all the many volunteers who so ably showcased the Congregation’s charism of serving the poorest people in rural areas through their health care and teaching work with families and in parishes.

Thank you above all to the Congregation of the Daughters of Jesus for having supported this magnificent adventure, which has enabled us to remember a very beautiful page in the holy history of our diocese of Vannes and which has given us access to the spiritual treasures of their religious family.

The passing on of a heritage

Dear Sisters, you are heirs to a spiritual heritage through this history in which God has manifested himself in so many ways, through the spirituality of Mother Marie de St Charles which has guided your religious life; thank you for bearing witness to this and for sharing with us your concern to pass it on.

Truly, the “Mystery of Kermaria” deserves to be more widely known!

Text by Brother Benoît osb

Abbaye Sainte-Anne de Kergonan (diocese of Vannes)

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × one =

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

« Le mystère de Kermaria » – la transmission d’un patrimoine

Le frère Benoît osb, de l’Abbaye Sainte-Anne de Kergonan en Bretagne, nous partage ses impressions de la représentation du « Mystère de Kermaria ». Il la situe comme transmission du patrimoine spirituel de la Congrégation et de l’histoire de la vie religieuse du diocèse.

C’est un moment de grâce exceptionnel que nous avons vécu ce samedi 9 septembre 2023 à Kermaria chez les «Filles de Jésus» pour la représentation du «Mystère de Kermaria» à l’entrée du domaine de la Congrégation, aux portes de Locminé. Cette représentation théâtrale en plein air avec de beaux décors et environ 80 figurants nous rapportait l’histoire des débuts de la congrégation qui date de 1834 et dont la première maison était à Bignan dans le Morbihan.

Deux figures marquantes

Nous avons ainsi découvert la personnalité de Mère Sainte Angèle, née Perrine Samson, première supérieure générale des « Filles de Jésus »,

et surtout la figure si marquante de Mère Marie de Saint Charles, née Angélique Périgault. Venue de Talensac dans le diocèse de Rennes, elle recherchait une congrégation plus pauvre que celles qu’elle connaissait. Elle arrive à Bignan le 17 octobre 1841, fait profession en 1843 et est élue supérieure générale le 23 août 1846, après seulement 5 ans de vie religieuse, à 26 ans, par 27 voix sur 29 ! Elle gouvernera la Congrégation durant près de 40 ans et donna aux Sœurs un enseignement spirituel qui demeure encore aujourd’hui.

«   Je prie le bon Dieu, de nous donner son Esprit pour nous faire agir en temps opportun selon son bon plaisir ; puis je m’abandonne entre ses mains avec calme et paix. »

Mère Marie de Saint Charles

Lann Vraz devient Saint-Joseph-de-Kermaria

Le 30 avril 1860 a lieu l’acquisition du domaine de Lann Vraz (Grande Lande) à Locminé devenu Saint-Joseph-de-Kermaria. En effet, selon une légende   au pays de Locminé, Saint Joseph y serait apparu à une pauvre paysanne revenant du marché, Louison, femme de foi et de prière à laquelle il fit cette révélation désignant le lieu de Lann Vraz :

« Il se fera ici de grandes choses ; beaucoup y viendront et de loin pour y vivre ensemble et St Joseph y sera honoré. »

Puis il a disparu.

Histoire et fête

C’est donc pour le 170ème anniversaire de l’arrivée des Sœurs à Kermaria qu’avait été prévue cette représentation qui en raison du Covid a été reportée à 2023.

Le théâtre alterna dans un bel équilibre des moments sérieux de l’histoire de la communauté et des moments plus ludiques de fêtes où les spectateurs participaient aux rythmes des danses en battant des mains.

Evocation des débuts héroïques

Le texte et les costumes étaient beaux et évocateurs. La diction des acteurs était très bonne, la sono était parfaite, et le déroulement de l’action sans faute ! On a pu remarquer la présence de beaucoup d’enfants et de jeunes dans les acteurs et une vraie joie émanait du mystère évoqué. Les débuts héroïques de la vie communautaire avaient de quoi susciter l’enthousiasme car les premières Sœurs ont été particulièrement courageuses, promptes au labeur des champs, ce qui les a rendues si proches des gens du milieu rural.

Merci pour cette page d’histoire

Merci au metteur en scène et à tous les nombreux bénévoles qui ont si bien mis en valeurs le charisme de la Congrégation à savoir le service des plus pauvres en milieu rural à travers leur mission de santé d’enseignement auprès des familles et au sein des paroisses.

Merci surtout à la Congrégation des Filles de Jésus d’avoir soutenu cette aventure magnifique qui nous a permis de faire mémoire d’une très belle page de l’histoire sainte de notre diocèse de Vannes et qui nous a donné accès aux trésors spirituels de leur famille religieuse.

Transmission d’un patrimoine

Chères Sœurs, vous êtes héritières d’un patrimoine spirituel à travers cette histoire dans laquelle Dieu s’est manifesté de maintes manières, à travers la spiritualité de Mère Marie de St Charles qui a orienté votre vie religieuse ; merci d’en avoir témoigné et de nous partager ce souci de le transmettre.

Vraiment, le « Mystère de Kermaria » mériterait d’être plus connu!

Témoignage du Frère Benoît osb

Abbaye Sainte-Anne de Kergonan (diocèse de Vannes)

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

17 − 4 =

Un peu
d'histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Share This