Christs of the palm – stories of young people seeking the Living God

 

A layperson who works alongside our Sisters in Colombia speaks of their experience with a group of disadvantaged young people. An experience that unveiled the « Christ » behind each face.

 

The call of some young people from the Puerto Mallarino neighborhood in Cali, Colombia, to share their lives, to pray and read the Word of God together, or simply to eat and relax together, led to an experience of social and pastoral work with the young in Our Lady of the Assumption Parish from 2018 to 2020. This experience brought about a great recognition on their part and an opening as a local Catholic Church. Committed lay worker, Diego Duque, tells us how these meetings brought them « closer to God ». The group was baptizedCristos de la palma”(Christs of the palm), and was different from a group of teenagers in a youth group. The life stories of the group members came from the street, stories of consumption, and episodes of delinquency.

 

We recognize you, Lord

 

Every meeting with them was an occasion for recognizing a “Christ” behind their faces, their appearance, their street slang, their tattoos, and their scars. It meant “lowering ourselves” to the level of their daily life in order to understand them, without necessarily saying that we agreed with some of their actions. It meant silencing our judgments and replacing them with words and merciful correction. This can be a hard process because of our complex human reality and social labels.

 

“Come and see”

 

Seven to ten young people met together, thanks to the insistence of committed Sisters Herminda and Isemane, and to their charism that is open to the pastoral needs in this context. It was also thanks to the work of Angela and Karime, committed laywomen and teachers, who generated a closeness in the group. Together with Father Rafael Lopera, they responded to so many calls that it became physically and emotionally wearing. However it was worth the wait; the young people arrived little by little at the meetings, full of excuses, but they arrived.

 

These meetings taught us not to go at our pace but at theirs. As young people who do not easily follow the norm, they had their own pace. Nor were the meetings intended to be resocialization workshops, they were meetings of faith. Each meeting was a slow falling in love with JESUS, the living Word. It was not a case of what we could give but of what we could take from their reflections and follies. Leading them to recognize that they were valuable to God was the central axis of this process, recognizing HUMAN DIGNITY in them and in their families.

 

 

They are always welcome

 

Working with young people takes time, they advance little by little and some are more stable than others. Some expect something from the Church and ask for work or a market. There are different expectations, as in every human relationship. In this case, it was partly like that. All of them, however, put in the time for Jesus whether at a meeting, a sharing, or the final retreat. They could “be themselves” with us and with Jesus. They followed two vocational training programs with the Colombian National Training Service. They participated in a Holy Thursday celebration and that was the great seal of their Catholic faith. They felt loved in the sacramental gesture of the washing of the feet.

 

However, there was a lack of resources to support this initiative. Lay people and religious understood that it was not easy and that they, and we, needed reflection, methodology, and space. The lack of commitment and sometimes the manipulation needed to carry out activities came to the fore. Perseverance and patience are gifts that all of those involved need to ask for. All the same, the truth is that this pastoral experiment was, is, and will be a valuable and necessary opportunity to continue discovering more « young Christs” standing on neighborhood corners, seeking to get closer to God.

 

Leonardo Valencia.

Social worker and committed layperson.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

Les Christs du palmier – histoires de jeunes qui cherchent le Dieu vivant

 

 

Un laïc engagé au côté de nos Sœurs en Colombie nous parle de leur expérience avec un groupe de jeunes défavorisés. Un groupe qui a dévoilé le Christ derrière chaque visage.

 

 

L’appel de certains jeunes du quartier de Puerto Mallarino à Cali, Colombia à partager la vie, à prier, à lire la Parole de Dieu ou simplement à manger quelque chose et se détendre ensemble, est devenu un espace qui, de 2018 à 2020 a permis :

 

  • une grande reconnaissance de leur part
  • une ouverture en tant que Paroisse Notre-Dame de l’Assomption et Église locale.

 

Par le biais des rencontres comme celles que le laïc engagé Diego Duque mentionne, “Ils se sont rapprochés de Dieu”. On a baptisé le groupe « Cristos de la palma » (Christs du palmier), parce qu’avec des histoires de vie chargées de vécus à la rue, de consommation et d’épisodes de délinquance, c’était un groupe différent des “adolescents du groupe de jeunes”.

 

Nous te reconnaissons Seigneur

 

Chaque rencontre avec eux devait permettre de reconnaître un “Christ” derrière leur visage, leur peinture, leur discours de “complot”, leurs tatouages et leurs cicatrices. On a dû “s’abaisser” à leur vie quotidienne pour les comprendre, sans vouloir dire que nous étions d’accord avec certains de leurs actes. On a dû faire taire le jugement et le remplacer par des mots et de la miséricorde; un processus difficile en raison de notre réalité humaine complexe et de l’étiquette sociale.

 

“Venez et voyez”

 

 Srs Herminda et Isemane, Filles de Jésus, se montraient des religieuses engagées, grâce à leur charisme et à leur ouverture aux besoins pastoraux du contexte. De même pour les professeurs Angela et Karime, des laïques engagées qui génèrent de la proximité et qui sont attentives. Avec le Père Rafael Lopera, elles répondent à tant d’appels qui, dans une certaine mesure, sont physiquement et émotionnellement épuisants. Ca vaut la peine d’attendre quand même ; les jeunes arrivent aux réunions peu à peu, en s’excusant du retard, mais ils arrivent.

 

Ces réunions nous ont appris à ne pas aller à notre rythme, mais selon le leur. Ils ne sont pas des jeunes qui suivent facilement la norme et ce n’était pas non plus un atelier de resocialisation, mais plutôt des réunions de foi. Chaque réunion représentait une lente découverte amoureuse de JÉSUS fait Parole de Vie. Ce n’était pas une question de donner, mais de les amener à tirer de leurs réflexions, de leurs folies. L’axe central du processus était de les amener à reconnaître qu’ils sont précieux aux yeux de Dieu, à reconnaître la DIGNITÉ HUMAINE en eux et dans leurs familles.

 

 

Ils seront toujours les bienvenus

 

Cependant, les processus avec les jeunes prennent du temps, et se déroulent petit à petit. Certains sont plus stables que d’autres, certains attendent quelque chose de l’Église, demandent du travail. Il y a des attentes différentes comme dans toute relation humaine. Dans ce cas une partie était comme ça, mais tous ont été fortement touché par Jésus, à chaque rencontre, partage ou à la retraite finale. Ils pourraient être « eux même » avec nous et avec Jésus. Ils se sont formés en deux cours avec le Service de Formation Nationale de Colombie. Participer à un Jeudi Saint a été le grand sceau de leur foi catholique ;  dansle geste sacramentel du lavement des pieds ils se sont sentis aimés.

Malheureusement, il y avait un manque de ressources pour soutenir cette initiative. Les laïcs et les religieux ont compris que ce n’était pas facile et qu’on avait besoin de réflexion, de méthodologie et d’espace. On a reconnu que le manque d’engagement et parfois les moyens pour mener à bien les activités ressortent en nous. Tous ici impliqués, nous devrions demander les dons de la persévérance et de la patience. Cependant, la vérité est que cette nouveauté pastorale était, est et sera un espace précieux et nécessaire pour continuer à découvrir “plus de jeunes Christs”, aux coins des quartiers cherchant à “se rapprocher de Dieu».

 

Leonardo Valencia.

Travailleur social et laïc engagé

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Publié dans Actualités, Témoignages

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

Share This