Sister Margaret BUCKLEY (Sr Mary Kieran) 1933 – 2020

Sr Margaret, in community at Hengist House, Westgate-on-Sea, England died in hospital on the 25th of August 2020. She was in her 87th year of age, 65 years in religious life.

 

Sr Margaret’s funeral took place on Tuesday, 22nd September at 12.00 noon, at Holy Family Church, Minnis Road, Birchington, Kent CT7 9SP. Mass was celebrated by the Rev. Fr Anthony Shryane with burial afterwards in Margate cemetery.

 

 

Obituary

Margaret was born 5th November 1933, in Glenville, County Cork in Ireland. She was the eldest of nine children where they grew up on a farm, still run by her brother Danny.

 

Margaret waited for her sister Hannah to be old enough to go to school. Hannah remembers their walks to school in all weathers, bare foot in the summer. Margaret and Hannah were confirmed together, and Margaret left school at 14.

 

At home, cooking was on an open fire, with iron pots and an iron kettle which would sing when it was boiling. Their mother cooked on an iron bastable, with water was from the spring, and the children all had their jobs after school.

 

In 1950 Aunt Anna (Sr Finbarr) was already working as a dietitian in Shooters Hill hospital in London and found a job and a cookery course for Margaret who then came to England.

 

In 1951 Anna had decided to join the Daughters of Jesus, the following year Margaret decided to follow in her footsteps and went to the house in Princes Risborough to prepare to go to the Novitiate in France. In 1952 Margaret went to Kermaria to begin her novitiate. She made profession in 1955 and returned to Colne in the north of England.

 

Almost her entire religious life was spent at the service of the community and of the local parish. For many years she cared for elderly ladies in the care home at Princes Risborough where she had a number of responsibilities. When Massingham St Mary changed from being the English novitiate house to become a retreat centre, Margaret became a kingpin in the housekeeping and organisation.

 

She had an excellent memory and was often the memory of the community. She knew how things should be done – a bit of a perfectionist!

 

In Westgate as in Rickmansworth she showed herself to be an excellent housekeeper. She died as she had lived, faithful to the end. She had fought the good fight and finished the course. “Heart that was pure, hands that were strong, lips that spoke no lies, Always the other to be cared for.” A gentle soul. May she rest in peace.

1 Comment

  1. My sincerest condolences to my cousin’s, the
    Buckley and their extended family, in their loss.
    My condolences also the St. Margaret’s long-term community on their loss.
    Prayers and love to you all.

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 × 5 =

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

Soeur Margaret BUCKLEY (Sr Mary Kieran) 1933 – 2020

Soeur Margaret, en communaute à Hengist House, Westgate-on-Sea, Angleterre est décédée le 25 août 2020 à l’hôpital. Elle était dans sa 87ème année d’âge dont 65 années de vie religieuse.

 

Les obsèques de Sr Margaret ont eu lieu le mardi 22 septembre à 12h00, à l’église Sainte Famille, Minnis Road, Birchington, Kent CT7 9SP. La Messe a été célébrée par le Révérend Père Anthony Shryane et l’enterrement a eu lieu au cimetière de Margate.

 

 

Margaret est née le 5 novembre 1933, à Glenville, dans le comté de Cork en Irlande. Elle était l’aînée de neuf enfants, et a grandi dans une ferme, toujours dirigée par son frère Danny.

Margaret attendait qu’Hannah soit assez âgée pour aller à l’école. Hannah se souvient de leurs marches pour y aller par tous les temps, pieds nus en été. Margaret et Hannah ont été confirmées ensemble, et Margaret a quitté l’école à 14 ans.

A la maison, la cuisine se faisait sur un feu ouvert, avec des « bastables » (une casserole !) casseroles en fer et une bouilloire en fer qui chantait quand elle bouillait. L’eau venait de la source, et tous les enfants avaient leur travail après l’école,

En 1950, sa tante Anna (Sr Mary Finbarr fj) travaillait déjà comme diététicienne à l’hôpital de Shooters Hill à Londres et a trouvé un emploi et un cours de cuisine pour Margaret. Elle est alors venue en Angleterre.

En 1951, Anna avait décidé de rejoindre les Filles de Jésus, et l’année suivante, Margaret a décidé de suivre dans ses traces. Elle s’est rendue à la maison à Princes Risborough pour se préparer à aller au noviciat en France. En 1952, Marguerite est arrivée à Kermaria pour commencer son noviciat. Elle a fait profession en 1955 et est retournee à Colne, dans le nord de l’Angleterre.

Elle a passé presque toute sa vie religieuse au service de la communauté et de la paroisse locale. À Princes Risborough, pendant de nombreuses années, elle s’est occupée des dames âgées dans la maison de retraite où elle avait un certain nombre de responsabilités. Lorsque Massingham St Mary est passé du noviciat anglais à un centre de sessions, Margaret est devenue la cheville ouvrière dans le domaine de l’entretien et de l’organisation.

Elle avait une excellente mémoire et était souvent la « mémoire vivante » de la communauté. C’est elle qui savait comment les choses devaient être faites – un peu perfectionniste !

À Westgate comme à Rickmansworth, elle s’est montrée une excellente gouvernante. Elle est décédée comme elle a vécu, fidèle jusqu’au bout. Elle avait mené le bon combat et terminé le cours. « Un cœur pur, des mains fortes, des lèvres qui ne mentent pas, toujours l’autre à soigner. » Une âme douce. Qu’elle repose en paix.

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

Un peu
d'histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Share This