CEFAL Session

The 13th and 14th March just past, Marie-Noëlle Christien, Madeleine Le Beau et Annick Quérellou took part in the 2015 “CEFAL Days”, organised in Paris by the Latin American Pole of the National Service of the Universal Mission of the Church. They share some echoes of this session with you.

50-ans-d-Ad-Gentes

The session participants were welcomed in the vast entrance hall of the Conference of Bishops in Paris, then directed towards the auditorium. Father Luc Lalire, head of the Latin American Pole, greeted them and presented Mgr Laurent Dognin, auxiliary Bishop of Bordeaux, who is replacing Mgr Marc Stenger at the Latin American Pole.

In preparation for the session we had been invited to consult a certain number of documents.
We were then invited along with some sixty other participants to meet the speakers who had lived a missionary experience in Latin America or the Caribbean, within a framework of universal mission.

First of all, “ the missionary experience of Latin-Americans in the French department of Aube”, presented in the form of a film which traced some important aspects :

 

  • Escudo_Arquidiocesis_de_Medellin A friendly meeting between Mgr Ricardo Tobon, bishop of Medellin (Colombia) and Mgr Marc Stenger, bishop of Troyes (France) who wanted to create links between their two dioceses.

 

  • The diocesan churches of Troyes and Medellin who then undertook to live the mission of the Church as partners.

 

  • The arrival in France of Colombian seminary students with a missionary programme, offering them a formation through the study of French and theology and pastoral insertion, and ordination to the diaconate in their mission diocese.50-ans-d-Ad-Gentes

 

  • The departure of a French priest : a missionary from the diocese of Troyes to Medellin.

 

  • Visits of laypeople from Troyes to Medellin

Central to this experience were the words : “Adventuring together … Daring to call young missionaries … Doing everything to make them feel welcome … Welcomed – welcoming … Living out the Gospel, being passionate about it and sharing it with others”.

The presentation by Father Bernardo Colmenares, a Colombian priest, who has been in France for 12 years, rounded out the film. Fr Bernardo recalled the different moments of the experience from the meeting of the two bishops up to the symposium of the 29th September – 1st October 2014 at the Catholic Institute of Paris : “Concerns and challenges in the coming together of local missionary cultures. A re-reading with the Latin American Church!”

A second experience, lived as a family in a shanty town in Brazil (Salvador de Bahia) revealed to us the lay missionary dimension. Through the organisation Fidesco (created by the Emmanuel community), Sébastien and his wife Mathilde, both of them teachers, accepted to go for 2 years with their two young daughters.

Leaving a secure professional life to answer a call to serve the poorest, is a step that needed reflexion and 9 months of formation given by Fidesco. Once there, Sébastien asked himself : “What will remain of the experience?” The important thing was to take the time to be welcomed. Their children were a link with the children of the shanty town, and therefore with the families. Their mission lay in educational support in the context of the parish with the intention that this mission could then continue without them. It was a Brazilian who took on the responsibility and so the mission also took on “a local colour”.

Once back in France, Sébastien and Mathilde took up their profession again. Transformed by the experience in the Brazilian shanty town, they continue to live the mission of the Church.

We appreciated this day of simple, fraternal meeting between the bishop, priests, religious brothers and sisters, and lay people who had lived a missionary experience in Latin America and the Caribbean. The meeting sent us back to “the universal mission” in our own country, there where we are sent today. In the workshops, we had been asked to answer the question : “What is mission for you?” A question for each one … that we invite you to make your own too.

Marie-Noëlle, Madeleine, Annick


0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five × four =

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

Session CEFAL à Paris

Les 13 et 14 mars derniers, Marie-Noëlle Christien, Madeleine Le Beau et Annick Quérellou ont participé aux «Journées CEFAL» (Comité Épiscopal France Amérique-Latine) 2015, organisées à Paris par le Pôle Amérique Latine, Service de la Mission Universelle. Elles vous partagent quelques échos de cette session.

50-ans-d-Ad-Gentes

Les participants à la session sont accueillis dans le vaste hall d’entrée de la Maison de la Conférence des Evêques, à Paris, puis dirigés vers l’auditorium. Le Père Luc Lalire, responsable du Pôle Amérique Latine, leur souhaite la bienvenue et présente Mgr Laurent Dognin, évêque auxiliaire de Bordeaux, nommé au Pôle Amérique Latine, en remplacement de Mgr Marc Stenger.

En préparation à la session, nous avions été invités à consulter un certain nombre de documents.

Nous voilà maintenant invitées avec une soixantaine d’autres participants à rencontrer des témoins ayant vécu une expérience missionnaire en Amérique Latine ou aux Caraïbes, dans le cadre de la mission universelle.

Tout d’abord, «l’expérience missionnaire de latino-américains dans l’Aube», présentée par un film qui en retrace des aspects importants :

Escudo_Arquidiocesis_de_Medellin

– une rencontre d’amitié entre Mgr Ricardo Tobon, évêque de Medellin (Colombie) et Mgr Marc Stenger, évêque de Troyes (France), désireux de créer des liens entre leurs diocèses ;

– l’église diocésaine de Troyes et l’église diocésaine de Medellin s’engagent

50-ans-d-Ad-Gentesà vivre en partenaires la mission de l’Eglise ;

 

 

– l’arrivée en France de séminaristes colombiens avec un programme missionnaire,
impliquant la formation : étude du français, de la théologie… avec une insertion
pastorale, et leur ordination au diaconat dans leur diocèse de mission ;
– le départ d’un prêtre français : un missionnaire du diocèse de Troyes à Medellin ;
– des séjours de laïcs de Troyes à Medellin…

Quelques mots forts caractérisent cette expérience : «Une aventure d’alliance…Oser appeler des jeunes missionnaires…Tout faire pour bien accueillir… Accueilli-Accueillant… Vivre l’Evangile, en être passionné et le partager à d’autres».

L’intervention du Père Bernardo Colmenares, prêtre colombien, en France depuis 12 ans, complète bien le film. Le P. Bernardo rappelle, en effet, les différents moments de l’expérience vécue depuis la rencontre des deux évêques jusqu’au colloque du 29 septembre-1er octobre 2014 à l’Institut Catholique de Paris: « Enjeux et défis de la rencontre des cultures missionnaires locales. Une relecture avec l’Eglise d’Amérique Latine ! »

Une seconde expérience, vécue en famille dans une favella, au Brésil (Salvador de Bahia) nous ouvre à la dimension missionnaire des laïcs. En lien avec l’organisme Fidesco (de l’Emmanuel), Sébastien, sa femme Mathilde, tous deux professeurs, acceptent de partir pour 2 ans avec leurs deux filles en bas âge.

Quitter une sécurité professionnelle pour répondre à un appel, le service des plus pauvres, c’est une démarche qui nécessite réflexion, formation (9 mois, assurée par Fidesco). Arrivé sur le lieu de la mission, Sébastien se pose la question : «Que restera-t-il de l’expérience ?». L’important : se laisser accueillir… Leurs enfants sont un lien avec les enfants de la favella, donc avec les familles. Leur engagement dans le soutien scolaire de la paroisse est le lieu de leur mission, avec le souci de prévoir que cette mission continue sans eux. C’est une Brésilienne qui a pris la responsabilité pédagogique du soutien scolaire : « la mission a pris la couleur locale ».
De retour en France, Sébastien et Mathilde ont retrouvé leur profession. Transformés par leur expérience de la favella brésilienne, ils continuent à vivre la mission de l’Eglise.

Nous avons apprécié cet espace de rencontre simple, fraternelle entre évêque, prêtres, religieux, religieuses, laïcs, ayant vécu une expérience missionnaire en Amérique Latine et
aux Caraïbes. Cette rencontre nous renvoie à « la mission universelle » dans notre propre pays, là où nous sommes envoyés aujourd’hui. En ateliers, nous avions à répondre à cette question : « C’est quoi la mission pour toi » ? Une question pour chacun, chacune… que nous vous invitons à faire vôtre aussi.

Marie-Noëlle, Madeleine, Annick

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

huit − 3 =

Un peu
d'histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Share This