October 2019 : Extraordinary Mission Month

The Sisters of the communities of Saint-Evarzec, Finistère and Tonneins, Lot-et-Garonne share with us how they responded to the invitation of Pope Francis to share the Gospel through personal witness and welcome during the Extraordinary Mission Month of October 2019.

 

 

The October letter of Sister Yvette Le Grand, Diocesan Delegate for Religious Life, challenged us deeply in the community at Saint-Evarzec. After reflection together, we opted for two “Open Door” afternoons on November 9 and 10.

 

But, how could we get this project off the ground?

 

First of all, we met with the priests in charge of the Parish of Our Lady of the Sea in the Pays Fouesnantais area. They were in favour of our project.

 

Then, we worked out exactly how we would publicise these two days :

 

– Posters, announcements at the end of Mass and in the monthly parish leaflet

 

– Information in the newspaper and, at the suggestion of a town councillor, on the municipality web-site

 

– Personal contacts.

 

Together, we then looked for ways to animate the two afternoons. We came up with :

 

– Old photos of the school, students and others

 

– Panels on our founders, our spirituality, our insertion in the world

 

– DVD of the Congregation

 

– Visit of the house

 

-Refreshments…

 

We helped each other and for the finishing touches, we appreciated the help of Mrs Armelle Delaplace, our community assistant. To make for a better flow through, we spread it out in various places in the house.

 

 

 

And off we went into the unknown, with confidence!

 

On the Saturday afternoon, November 9, we were greatly surprised to see so many people arrive – known and unknown, different in age, from different places and walks of life conditions … great joy on both sides!

 

Former pupils came to visit their school which operated from 1881 to 1971. From then on with the arrival of mixed schooling, the pupils joined Saint-Louis School whose direction was entrusted to Sister Marie Catherine Nicot, Daughter of Jesus.

 

How many visitors did we have? 80 on Saturday, a hundred on Sunday! It was necessary to stay in good humour…

 

What we’ve learned from these two days

 

  • Expansive joy expressed in the entrance hall, especially by a former teacher at the sight of former pupils not only in the photos but in the flesh. There was a happy hubbub! Others simply said to us: “We have come for you, my Sisters. »

 

 

 

  • Thanks to the DVD and the panels, everyone became better acquainted with the Congregation and showed astonishment at the development of Kermaria as well as the extension of the Congregation in the world. They also discovered our founders and the spirit that animates us.

 

  • After a time of silence or prayer in the chapel, the refreshments were much appreciated over very lively conversations, recalling memories and sharing with the Sister

 

We had the joy of receiving our two priests and the Mayor of Saint Evarzec who told us: “You did well to open your doors.” Other words of thanks confirm it…

 

Thank you, Sisters, for your welcome today, thank you for your welcome every day, especially at times when life is hard for us.”

 

These two days were Invigorating for us and gave us increased hope as well as the acknowledgement of knowing that we are well inserted in a people who count on our presence and our prayer. At the same time, they gave us the opportunity to create new bonds. The visit was too quick for some who would like to know more about us and have more details about “being an Associate”.

 

It’s up to us to follow up

with the joy that dwells in us!

 

Community of Saint-Evarzec

 

 

“Baptised and sent” at Tonneins

 

The Daughters of Jesus community sparked off a meeting at parish level. A dozen lay people responded to the invitation of the three Sisters, each of whom had had missionary experience in the Ivory Coast. The group took note of the message of Pope Francis and divided into two teams to reflect on how to mark “Extraordinary Missionary Month“.

 

Two proposals emerged:

 

  • Drinks together after Mass on Sunday, October 20th. This allowed the parish community, which is scattered across several villages, to take the time to talk to each other and to get to know each other. The “bissap” from the Ivory Coast, a drink made from Ibiscus flowers, fuelled the exchanges. The ambience at the end of the Mass was excellent and we asked to have it again at the next meeting!

 

  • A “missionary rosary” on October 24th prepared by a Sister and a laywoman. As an aid in our prayer, we emphasised the five colours, representative of the five continents. A large luminous globe put us in the presence of the whole world. If the small number of participants disappointed us, the quality of the prayer comforted us. One lady told us: “It was good! Your way of presenting the decades brought the countries back to mind and it was a real missionary rosary!

 

With the five colours :

 

Yellow reminded us of Asia, land of the Rising Sun, the cradle of very ancient civilizations, a continent that explodes with life and youth, praying that Christ may be more present there.

 

Blue recalled Oceania, because of the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean, enveloping the thousands of islands of this continent, that the Gospel may be more widely spread there.

 

Green symbolized Africa, because of its green forests in spite of deforestation, and of the many countries that have suffered so much but are open to the Good News.

 

Red stood for North America, the colour of the first inhabitants, the “Redskins”, and the promise of new missionary forces.

 

White, our colour, reminded us of Europe, that it may regain its Christian vigour and its evangelising power.

 

 

And since it was a Thursday, we prayed the Luminous Mysteries, indicating each continent, and with intentions for each continent based on current events or taken from our reading. To top all that, our parish priest asked us to intervene on a Sunday in October, so that each one could say how the fact of having been abroad affected her life here and now.

 

Baptized, we are all sent,

whatever our horizon, our work, our life.

 

Community of Tonneins

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seventeen + 8 =

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

Octobre 2019 : mois missionnaire extraordinaire

Les Sœurs des communautés de Saint-Evarzec, Finistère, et de Tonneins, Lot-et-Garonne, nous partagent leur vécu en réponse à l’invitation du Pape François à partager l’Evangile par le témoignage personnel et l’accueil pendant le « Mois Missionnaire Extraordinaire d’octobre 2019.

A la communauté de Saint-Evarzec, la lettre d’octobre de Sœur Yvette Le Grand, Déléguée diocésaine à la vie religieuse, nous a vivement interpelées. Après réflexion en communauté, nous optons pour deux après-midi «Portes Ouvertes», les 9 et 10 novembre.

 

Mais, comment mettre en route ce projet ?

D’abord, nous rencontrons les prêtres responsables de la Paroisse Notre-Dame de la Mer en Pays Fouesnantais. Ils sont favorables à notre projet.

Puis, nous nous précisons les moyens d’information :

  • Affiches, annonces à la fin de la messe et dans le feuillet mensuel de la paroisse
  • Information dans le journal et sur le panneau électronique de la commune, à l’initiative d’une conseillère municipale
  • Contacts personnels.

Ensemble, nous cherchons comment meubler ces deux après-midis. Nous retenons :

  • Anciennes photos de l’école, des élèves et autres
  • Réalisations de panneaux sur nos fondateurs, notre spiritualité, nos insertions dans le monde
  • DVD sur la Congrégation
  • Visite de la maison
  • Verre d’amitié.

Nous nous sommes entraidées et pour les finitions, nous avons apprécié l’aide de Madame Armelle Delaplace, notre assistante communautaire. Pour un meilleur déroulement du projet, nous nous sommes réparties en divers lieux de la maison.

 

 

Et nous voilà parties vers l’inconnu, avec confiance !

 Le samedi 9 novembre, dès 14 h 30, notre surprise fut grande de voir tant de personnes arriver, connues ou inconnues, différentes par l’âge, les lieux, les conditions… Grande joie de part et d’autre !

 Des anciennes élèves viennent visiter leur école qui a fonctionné de 1881 à 1971. A cette date où se réalise la mixité, les élèves rejoignent l’école Saint-Louis dont la direction est confiée à Sœur Marie Catherine Nicot, Fille de Jésus.

 Combien étaient-ils ? 80 le samedi, une centaine le dimanche ! Il a fallu s’ingénier dans la bonne humeur…

 

 

 Ce que nous retenons de ces journées 

  • Joie expansive exprimée à l’accueil, surtout par une ancienne institutrice à la vue d’anciennes élèves non seulement en photos mais en réalité. Joyeux brouhaha dans le hall d’entrée ! D’autres personnes nous disaient simplement : «Nous sommes venues pour vous mes Sœurs. »
  • Grâce au DVD et aux panneaux, chacun a pris meilleure connaissance de la Congrégation et trouvé réponse à l’étonnement devant le développement de Kermaria et l’extension de la Congrégation dans le monde. Découverte aussi de nos fondateurs et de l’esprit qui nous anime.
  • Après un temps de silence ou de prière à la chapelle, vient le verre de l’amitié tant apprécié ! Conversations très animées, rappels de souvenirs, partage avec les Sœurs.

Nous avons eu la joie de recevoir nos deux prêtres et le Maire de Saint Evarzec qui nous a dit : «Vous avez bien fait d’ouvrir vos portes. » Des mots de remerciements le confirment… «Merci aux Sœurs pour leur accueil du jour, merci pour leur accueil de tous les jours, particulièrement à des moments où la vie nous apporte des coups durs. ».

Pour nous, ces journées ont été tonifiantes. Nous avons expérimenté une espérance accrue et la reconnaissance de nous savoir bien insérées dans un peuple qui compte sur notre présence et notre prière. En même temps, c’était l’occasion pour créer de nouveaux liens. La visite a été trop rapide pour certains qui voudraient nous connaître davantage et avoir des précisions sur «être Associé-e».

 A nous de donner suite

avec la joie qui nous habite !

 Communauté de Saint-Evarzec

 

 

« Baptisés et envoyés » à Tonneins

Ici, la communauté Filles de Jésus a suscité une rencontre au niveau de la paroisse. Une douzaine de laïcs a répondu à l’invitation des trois Sœurs, chacune ayant une expérience missionnaire en Côte d’Ivoire. Le groupe prend connaissance du message du Pape François et se divise en deux équipes pour réfléchir à la manière de marquer le « Mois Missionnaire Extraordinaire ».

Il en ressort deux propositions :

  • Un verre de l’amitié, après la messe du dimanche 20 octobre. Il a permis à la communauté paroissiale, venant de plusieurs villages, de prendre le temps de se parler et de faire connaissance. Le «bissap» de Côte d’Ivoire, boisson à base de fleurs d’Ibiscus, a alimenté les échanges. On en redemande pour les prochaines rencontres ! L’ambiance de cette fin de messe fut excellente.
  • Un chapelet missionnaire le 24 octobre préparé par une Sœur et une dame. Pour soutenir notre prière, nous avons mis l’accent sur les cinq couleurs, représentatives des cinq continents. Un gros globe lumineux nous mettait en présence du monde entier. Si le peu de participants nous a déçus, la qualité de la prière du chapelet nous a réconfortés. Une dame nous a dit : «C’était bon ! Votre façon de présenter les dizaines nous remettait les pays en mémoire et c’était bien un chapelet missionnaire ! » En voici quelques éléments :

Le jaune rappelle l’Asie, terre du Soleil Levant, berceau d’une civilisation très ancienne et qui explose de vie et de jeunesse, pour que le Christ y soit davantage présent.

Le bleu rappelle l’Océanie, à cause des eaux bleues de l’Océan Pacifique qui enveloppe les milliers d’îles de ce continent, pour que l’Evangile y soit davantage diffusé.

Le vert rappelle l’Afrique, à cause de ses forêts vertes malgré les déforestations, et aux si nombreux pays éprouvés par tant de souffrances, mais ouverts à la Bonne Nouvelle.

Le rouge rappelle l’Amérique, couleur des premiers habitants, les «Peaux rouges», promesse de nouvelles forces missionnaires.

Le blanc, notre couleur, rappelle l’Europe, pour qu’elle retrouve sa vigueur chrétienne et sa force évangélisatrice.

Et comme c’était un jeudi, nous avons prié les Mystères Lumineux, indiquant pour chaque continent, des intentions formulées pour ce continent à partir de l’actualité ou de nos lectures.

 

 

Par ailleurs, notre Curé nous a demandé d’intervenir un dimanche du mois d’octobre, pour que chacune dise en quoi le fait d’être partie au loin influe sur sa vie présente. Baptisés, nous sommes tous envoyés, quel que soit notre horizon, notre travail, notre vie.

Communauté de Tonneins

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Publié dans Evènements
Share This