Discover l’Ile Blanche

White Island or Sacred Island?

Discover this beautiful place of welome and inner resourcement,

situated in northern Brittany, France,

the place of the General Chapter 2002

of the Daughters of Jesus.

The name

‘Ile Blanche’ (the White Island) has always had this name which is linked to its particular situation on the left bank of the Douron estuary. Before the construction of the bridge in 1934, the place seemed to be an island difficult to get to when seen from the right bank of the river.

White Island or Sacred Island? The origin of the place name is lost in the mists of time. Prehistoric tombs from the Bronze Age are still visible on the property and testify to a very ancient human presence. The site was probably a sacred place of Druidic worship; for the Druids, the term “gwenn” (white in Breton), also meant ‘sacred’.

The four stages of a long history

The manor (1661 – 1900) : It was originally a modest construction, owing its existence to the port of Toul an Héry, located opposite Ile Blanche. At this time, the port had a great commercial activity with ships setting sail particularly towards England.

When the fleet of sailing ships disappeared, the port lost its commercial activity and various owners succeeded one another on the Ile Blanche. It was at this time too, that the Douron river began to be exploited for its sand. Its bed became deeper , and its banks silted up to take on the aspect we know today.

The chateau (1903-1924) :  At the beginning of the 20th century, the manor became a chateau, at the initiative of Mrs. Norton, a rich woman who wanted a sumptuous residence where she could receive guests in great style. She added on the two wings, the turrets, the entrance portico, the farm buildings, and a hall for dancing which later became a chapel and the present dining room.

Click to visit the property in the morning under a summer sun

The Juvenate of the Daughters of the Holy Spirit (1926 – 1970) : The Congregation of the Daughters of the Holy Spirit acquired Ile Blanche in 1926, with the intention of establishing a “juvenate”, a secondary school for young girls wishing to enter religious life. The modern buildings at the back of the chateau date from this period.

The Centre (1975 to the present): In 1975, IIe Blanche became a ‘Centre’ for receiving guests of different sorts. In the house, classrooms were converted to become conference rooms and individual rooms replaced the dormitories.

Join the capitulants in making a tour of the property

On the first evening we offered a short tour of the property –

Thank you, Sr Maria-Esperanza for these lovely images!

Today, Ile Blanche is made up of a team of employees, a religious community and a chaplain who continue to promote together a welcoming dynamism, which makes this house a place of resourcement and formation, a place for holidays and meetings.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

thirteen − 1 =

Un peu
d’histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.

Share This

l’Ile Blanche en quelques flashes

Ile Blanche ou Ile Sacrée?

Venez découvrir ce beau lieu d’accueil et de ressourcement,

situé au nord de la Bretagne en France.

Le nom

Le lieu a toujours porté ce nom, lié à sa situation particulière sur la rive gauche de l’estuaire du Douron. Vue de la rive droite de la rivière, le lieu paraissait effectivement être une île d’accès difficile, avant la construction du pont en 1934.

Ile Blanche ou Ile Sacrée ? L’origine du lieu se perd dans la nuit des temps. Des tombes préhistoriques de l’âge de bronze, visibles dans la propriété, témoignent d’une présence humaine très ancienne. Le site a vraisemblablement été un lieu sacré de culte druidique. Or, pour les Druides, le terme sacré se disait ‘gwenn’ (blanc en breton), le blanc et le sacré étant confondu.

Les quatres étapes d’une longue histoire

Le manoir (1661 – 1900) : C’est à l’origine une construction modeste, qui doit son existence au port de Toul an Héry, situé en face de l’Ile Blanche. A l’époque, ce port avait une grande activité commerciale par navires à voile, vers l’Angleterre en particulier.

Avec la disparition de la marine à voile, le port perd son activité commerciale et divers propriétaires se succèdent à l’Ile Blanche. Parallèlement, la rivière du Douron est exploitée pour son sable. Son lit se creuse et ses rives s’ensablent pour prendre l’aspect qu’on lui connaît aujourd’hui.

Le château (1903 -1924) :  Ce n’est qu’au début du 20ème siècle que le manoir devient château, à l’initiative de Mme Norton, une femme riche qui veut une demeure fastueuse où elle puisse recevoir avec magnificence. Elle fait construire les deux ailes, les tourelles, le portique d’entrée, les bâtiments de ferme, la salle de danse devenue par la suite chapelle et actuellement salle de restaurant.

Cliquez pour visiter la propriété le matin sous le soleil d’été

Le Juvénat des Filles du Saint Esprit (1926 – 1970) : La Congrégation des Filles du Saint Esprit acquiert l’Ile Blanche en 1926, avec le projet d’y établir un ‘juvénat’, une école secondaire pour jeunes filles désireuses d’entrer la vie religieuse. C’est de cette époque que datent les bâtiments modernes, à l’arrière du château.

La maison d’accueil (1975 à nos jours) : En 1975, l’IIe Blanche devient ‘maison d’accueil’. La maison vit une reconversion – les salles de classe deviennent des salles de conférence, les dortoirs des chambres.

Rejoignez les capitulant(e)s faire le tour de la propriété

Le premier soir, on nous a offert un petit tour de la propriété – Merci à Sr Maria-Esperanza pour ces belles images!

Aujourd’hui, l’Ile Blanche est une équipe de salariés, une communauté religieuse et un aumônier qui continuent de promouvoir ensemble le dynamisme de l’accueil, pour faire de cette maison un lieu de ressourcement, de formation, de séjours et de rencontres.

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

Un peu
d'histoire

Notre
Spiritualité

Rejoindre
notre famille

Nos
communautés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous si vous désirez recevoir la lettre d’information de la Congrégation

Share This