Father Noury’s Project

P_Noury_6cm_tr

Pierre Noury was born in 1743 in Lauzach, a small parish in Morbihan in the diocese of Vannes, Brittany. He received a sound formation at the Jesuit college, and later at the Seminary in Vannes run by the Lazarists. He was appointed “rector” (parish priest) of Bignan in 1771.

A scholarly man of prayer, well acquainted with the Bible, his concern was that the faith of his parishioners be enlightened as well as fervent, in order to stand up to the trials he could foresee in a sombre future. Preaching was his main pre-occupation.

“To proclaim the Good News”, this he did with constant devotion to his parishioners who, moreover, elected him mayor of the town in 1790. Fr. Noury was close to his people, especially the poor and the sick, and was attentive to every need : comforting the suffering as well as inventing healthy diversions for youngsters. He wished he had “a hundred bodies” so as to be of greater service to his parishioners.

Père Noury

He drew up a project of “a house of piety and charitable work”, the running of which was to be entrusted to young women who would live together. This project would one day give birth to a congregation.

Events linked to the Revolution forced him into exile : in 1792 he set off for Spain, then Portugal. It was during this period that he composed most of his writings.

On his return to Brittany, in December 1801, to a diocese impoverished and torn by the consequences of the Revolution, Fr. Noury found his parishioners again for a short time, and was then named parish priest of the Cathedral of Vannes. He died in that town in 1804.

Learn more about Father Noury

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share This

Le projet du père Noury

Pierre Noury est né en 1743 à Lauzach, petite paroisse du Morbihan, au diocèse de Vannes (Bretagne, France).P_Noury_6cm_tr

Il reçut une solide formation, au collège des Jésuites, puis au Grand Séminaire de Vannes dirigé par des Lazaristes.

Il fut nommé « recteur » (curé) de Bignan en 1771.

Homme d’étude et de prière, familier de la Bible, il portait le souci que ses paroissiens puissent vivre d’une foi éclairée et en même temps chaleureuse, qui leur permette de résister aux épreuves d’un avenir qu’il prévoyait sombre. Sa hantise était la prédication.

« Annoncer la Bonne Nouvelle », il le faisait aussi par un dévouement constant à ses paroissiens qui l’élurent d’ailleurs maire de la commune dès 1790. Proche de tous, plus particulièrement ami des pauvres et des malades, il était attentif à tous les besoins : soulager les misères comme inventer des distractions saines pour la jeunesse. Monsieur Noury aurait voulu « avoir cent corps » pour pouvoir mieux servir ses paroissiens.

Père NouryIl rédigea le projet d’une « maison de piété et de bienfaisance » dont le fonctionnement serait confié à des jeunes femmes vivant ensemble. De ce projet naîtrait un jour une congrégation.

Les événements liés à la Révolution le contraignirent à l’exil : en 1792, il partit pour l’Espagne puis le Portugal. C’est pendant cette période qu’il composa la plupart de ses œuvres.

A son retour en Bretagne, en décembre 1801, dans un diocèse appauvri et déchiré par les séquelles de la Révolution, le P. Noury retrouva ses paroissiens pour peu de temps, puis fut nommé curé de la cathédrale de Vannes. Il mourut dans cette ville en 1804.

En savoir plus sur le Père Noury

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email