Historical context

Brittany at the time of the foundation


Bretagne_12_cm_tr

A few aspects

In the XVIIIth century, the socio-economic situation of Brittany could be divided into two distinct parts :

– The towns, especially the sea-ports, experienced an undeniable prosperity.

– The countryside had experienced a certain development in the XVIth century thanks to the introduction of new products and the development of a small industry linked to maritime activity. The social impact was, however, limited and the peasants had no share in the commerce nor did they benefit from what was exported.

At the dawn of the French Revolution of 1789, the peasant population of Brittany remained on the fringe of the effects of economic and social development. Although royal commands imposed the establishment of schools in every parish, the Breton Parliament paid little heed. Only 6% of men and 1.5% of women could sign their marriage act. The peasant mass was also left to its fate in matters of health care.

The effects of the French Revolution on the whole of Brittany were negative : the war between France and England ruined the Breton ports and plunged the countryside into even greater misery.

In the XIXth century, even if Brittany participated in the literary and religious movement which developed in France with Chateaubriand, Lamennais and Renan on the social and cultural level, the countryside remained apart and did not benefit from education and health care.

croix-de-mer_02

The Breton people remained deeply rooted in their faith, in fidelity to the Catholic Church and attached to their culture. It would be the Church, the only institution present even in the remotest corners, which would undertake to relieve the ills from which society was suffering, by creating schools and ensuring care of the sick.

It was in this context that M. Coëffic would take up the project conceived by M. Noury at the end of the XVIIIth century and in which the first sisters would embark.

Under the French Revolution

At the beginning of the French Revolution of 1789 Brittany was in favour of the reforms that were proposed, but the situation would change.

The constitutive assembly insisted that priests should take the oath of fidelity to the “Civil Constitution of the Clergy” which reorganised the French secular clergy on the model of the civil administration and submitted it to the authority of the State. That divided the clergy : some accepted, others refused and would take the road to exile. Pierre Noury, at that time parish priest of Bignan, would be among those who would choose exile.

The disappointment of the peasants who had hoped to see their conditions of life improve, the persecution against the priests who opposed the “Civil Constitution of the Clergy”, massive conscription for the war against Austria, provoked a protest movement of popular rebellion, the “Breton chouannerie”. This movement would leave traces such that Fr. Noury, on his return from exile, in his concern to preach appeasement and attachment to the concordat signed between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII, would come up against the leaders of the “chouannerie” and would have to leave his parish of Bignan. He would become parish priest of the Cathedral in Vannes.

croix-basse_02

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share This

Contexte historique : La Bretagne au temps de la fondation

Bretagne_12_cm_tr

Quelques aspects

Au XVIIIème siècle, la situation socio-économique de la Bretagne comporte deux volets très différents:

– Les villes, surtout les villes portuaires, connaissent une incontestable prospérité.

– La campagne a connu un certain développement au XVIème siècle grâce à l’introduction de nouveaux produits et au développement d’une petite industrie liée à l’activité maritime. L’impact social est cependant limité et les paysans ne participent pas au commerce ni aux bénéfices des exportations.

A l’aube de la Révolution française de 1789, la population paysanne bretonne demeure en marge des effets du développement économique et social. Bien que des ordonnances royales imposent l’établissement d’écoles dans toutes les paroisses, le Parlement de Bretagne ne s’en inquiète guère. Seuls 6% des hommes et 1,5% des femmes peuvent signer leur acte de mariage. La masse des paysans reste également abandonnée à son sort pour les soins de santé.

Les effets de la Révolution française sur l’ensemble de la Bretagne sont négatifs: la guerre franco-anglaise ruine les ports bretons et enfonce la campagne dans une misère plus grande encore.

Au XIXème siècle, même si la Bretagne participe au mouvement littéraire et religieux qui se développe en France avec Chateaubriand, Lamennais, Renan, au niveau social etcroix-de-mer_02 culturel, la campagne reste à l’écart et ne bénéficie pas de l’éducation et des soins de santé.

Le peuple breton demeure profondément enraciné dans la foi, dans la fidélité à l’Église catholique et attaché à sa culture . Ce sera l’Église, seule institution présente même dans les coins les plus reculés, qui se chargera de soulager les maux dont souffre la société, en créant des écoles et en assurant le soin des malades.

C’est dans ce contexte que M. Coëffic reprendra le projet conçu par M. Noury à la fin du XVIIIème siècle et dans lequel les premières sœurs s’engageront.

Sous La Révolution française

Au début de la Révolution française de 1789, la Bretagne se montre favorable aux réformes proposées mais cette situation va changer.

L’assemblée constituante exige des prêtres qu’ils prêtent serment de fidélité à la «Constitution Civile du Clergé » qui réorganise le clergé séculier français sur le modèle de l’administration civile et le soumet à l’autorité de l’Etat. Cela divise le clergé : les uns acceptent, les autres refusent et prendront la route de l’exil. Pierre Noury, à l’époque curé de Bignan, sera parmi ceux qui vont choisir l’exil.

La déception des paysans qui espèrent voir s’améliorer leurs conditions de vie, la persécution contre les prêtres réfractaires à « la Constitution Civile du Clergé », la conscription massive pour la guerre contre l’Autriche, provoquent un mouvement de protestation et de rébellion populaire,  » la chouannerie bretonne ». Ce mouvement va laisser des traces de telle sorte que P. Noury, à son retour d’exil, soucieux de prêcher l’apaisement et le ralliement au Concordat signé entre Napoléon et le pape Pie VII, s’affrontera aux responsables de la chouannerie et devra quitter sa paroisse de Bignan. Il deviendra curé de la cathédrale de Vannes.

croix-basse_02

Print Friendly, PDF & Email